Thesis & Departmental Honors Students

A citation manager stores all your citations in a searchable database so that you can:

• Keep your research organized.
• Format your footnotes or endnotes automatically in the style of your choice (APA, Chicago, MLA, etc.).
• Format your bibliography automatically.
• Insert citations or references into a Word document with a click.
• Create and format an annotated bibliography.

Citation tools such as EndNote and Zotero are great for gathering, managing, and organizing your research. 

EndNote will allow you to:

• Store your references and link them to your PDF files
• Organize your references into Groups
• Create bibliographies
• Work with Microsoft Word to format your in-text citations and references
• Switch between many reference styles, with the touch of a button

Zotero will allow you to:

• add web content your personal library with a single click
• collect all your research in a single, searchable interface
• organize your research into collections that act like iTunes playlists
• assign tags to your library items to organize your research using your own keywords
• create footnotes, endnotes, in-text citations, or bibliographies
• automatically synchronize your data across devices

We can help you learn these tools and citation styles. Just ask us or contact a subject specialist directly! For more help, look at the examples on the library's citation guide.

Use the style recommended by your advisor or choose one of the major styles below based on the discipline for your thesis: