Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Student Library Research Awards
2021 submissions are open!
These awards were created to reward students who take the time to develop a thoughtful, methodical, and scholarly approach to the research needed for their papers and projects, as well as to encourage students to develop good research techniques.
Find out more at the Student Library Research Awards site
Course Guides in English and Comparative Literature
Search the OED
Oxford English Dictionary
This guide will help you find resources for researching English and Comparative Literature. It aims to point you to the most useful starting points for your research.
If you have any questions about doing basic or in-depth research relating to English or Comparative Literature, please contact Karen Storz, Research and Instruction Librarian, firstname.lastname@example.org, or make an appointment on my calendar!
Featured Library Resources In English & Comparative Literature
MLA International Bibliography
Use this database to find books, book chapters, and articles on topics in languages, literature, film, folklore, and linguistics.
Literature Online (LION)
Literary texts from 1600 to the present, with literary criticism full-text 1998 to present.
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and literary works from all genres and eras.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Articles on U.S. & Canadian history, covering prehistory to the present
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Articles, book chapters, and books on historical subjects (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
, American Studies
, Cinema & Media Studies
, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences
, Comparative Literature
, East Asian Languages & Cultures
, East Asian Studies
, German & German Cultural Studies
, Italian Studies
, Latin American Studies
, Russian & Russian Area Studies