Library Research Guides: ENGLISH & COMPARATIVE LITERATURE: Historic News and Reviews

Databases for Historical Periodicals

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals, usually containing all issues from the date of first publication (as far back as 1870) to about 2005. These journals may contain reviews of novels or books of poetry.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Find articles, poems, and reviews published in US & Canadian popular magazines, including Poetry, The New Yorker, or The Saturday Evening Post, up to 1982.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
Find articles published in over 6000 scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications in the humanities and social sciences in over 60 languages, reaching back to 1665.
Dates: 1665 CE-present
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from key journals in the humanities and social sciences, published from 1861 to the early 2000s, most of which are peer-reviewed.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
journals and magazines published between 1680 and 1930.
American Periodicals, 1740-1940 This link opens in a new window
full-text facsimiles of more than 1110 American periodicals from Colonial times to early 20th century.
OpinionArchives This link opens in a new window
Full text archives of many U.S. magazines focused on commentary and reviews of news, politics, culture, and the arts. Magazines include The New Yorker, Harper's, Commentary, Commonweal, Dissent, Moment, and the New York Review of Books from their first issue to their most recent.
Dates: 1850 CE-Present

FictionMags Index
a crowd-compiled index to thousands of English-language magazines publishing fiction: pulp magazines, glossy or "slick" magazines like Collier's or Saturday Evening Post, even some online and newspaper publications. Especially useful for magazines not indexed elsewhere. No full text.

U.S. Mainstream Newspapers

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text historical news articles in major American and British newspapers, including the New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and more.
Dates: 1791-2003 CE
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1,000 historical U.S. newspapers. Contains Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922, and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.
Dates: 1690-1998 CE
Boston Globe, 1872-1989 This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper, including articles, images, and ads.
Dates: 1872-1989 CE
New York Times, 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
1851-2007; more recent coverage in LexisNexis Academic News

Brooklyn Daily Eagle, 1841-1902

Chicago Tribune, 1849-1997 This link opens in a new window
Full text of the major daily Chicago newspaper from its first publication, including images, advertisements, and articles.
Dates: 1849-1997 CE
Los Angeles Times, 1881-2000 This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper, including articles, images, and ads.
Dates: 1881-2000 CE
Nation Archive This link opens in a new window
News weekly, 1865-present
Washington Post, 1877-2003 This link opens in a new window
Full-text news articles, editorials, ads, images, and graphics from the newspaper.
Dates: 1877-2003 CE

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
NOTE: Access is provided through the Boston Public Library with a Boston Public Library card. Get a Boston Public Library eCard

Newspaper Archive
Contains the Boston Post (1831-1922) and Boston Globe (1872-1922). Courtesy of the Boston Public Library using a BPL eCard - get an eCard

Foreign Newspapers

Guardian and the Observer (UK), 1791-2003 This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of two British newspapers, covering all aspects of British and world news.
Dates: 1791-2003 CE
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
Times of London, 1785-2006
Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of the weekly literary review published in London, featuring book reviews, essays, interviews, and opinion pieces in a variety of fields, with an emphasis on literature, history, and the arts.
Dates: 1902-2014 CE

Sunday Times of London (1822-2006)
Tremendous addition to the weekday paper with in-depth news and analysis
NOTE: Access is provided through the Boston Public Library with a Boston Public Library card. Get a BPL eCard
19th Century British Newspapers
NOTE: Access is provided through the Boston Public Library with a Boston Public Library card. Get a Boston Public Library eCard
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Early English media, including papers from the colonies.
NOTE: Access is provided through the Boston Public Library with a Boston Public Library card. Get a Boston Public Library eCard

African Newspapers, 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 60 newspapers from across Africa, in English and other languages.
Dates: 1800-1922 CE

Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press Collection
20 significant newspapers, 1850s-1970s, many in Spanish, published in the US and Mexico - from the University of Arizona Libraries
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
Digitized newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean in Spanish, English, French, Dutch, and Portuguese, 1884-2016.
Financial Times (1888-2009)
The world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. An essential tool for anyone studying public affairs, and economic & financial history of the last 120 years.
NOTE: Access is provided through the Boston Public Library with a Boston Public Library card. Get a BPL eCard
The Economist (1843-2010)
Highly regarded, comprehensive appraisal of global news every week. Excellent source of economic and political analysis.
NOTE: Access is provided through the Boston Public Library with a Boston Public Library card. Get a BPL eCard
The Irish Times, 1859-2012
NOTE: Access is provided through the Boston Public Library with a Boston Public Library card.Get a BPL eCard.

ENGLISH & COMPARATIVE LITERATURE: Historic News and Reviews

Databases for Historical Periodicals

U.S. Mainstream Newspapers

On This Page

Foreign Newspapers