Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resource Spotlight - Women Writers Project
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern (formerly at Brown). It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.
BBC Audio Interviews
Hear interviews with poets (from Maya Angelou to William Butler Yeats) and writers (from Chinua Achebe to Virginia Woolf)
Noted for its streaming audio recordings of English-language poets (such as Robert Browning and Elizabeth Bishop) reading their own works.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
The Internet Archive is a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form, including texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.
Voice of the Shuttle: English Literature
By Alan Liu, UC Santa Barbara. An excellent, comprehensive Web site for all periods of English and American literature, with links to specific author pages, listservs and newsgroups, teaching resources, syllabi, and conferences.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, and other media from the Library of Congress. Highlights include 19th century books and periodicals, Walt Whitman's poetry notebooks, Lewis Carroll's scrapbooks, the plays of Zora Neale Hurston, and items from the Federal Theatre Project Collection.
Celebration of Women Writers
An exhaustive (or exhausting!) list of women writers, from classic to trashy. Searchable by author's name, century, country, or ethnicity. The information/links vary in quality.
The Shakespeare Quarto Archive--Hamlet Prototype
A digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays. Search, annotate, make public or private sets of annotations, create exhibits or character cue line lists, and download and print text and images.
Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and historical editions of Shakespeare's works; prompt books and theatrical diaries; articles and reference materials on Shakespeare and related topics, 1600 to present
Romanticism & Victorianism
Discovering Literature: Romantics & Victorians
Digitized manuscripts, newspapers, diaries, letters, photographs, and maps from the British Library collections as well as accompanying articles and videos. Explore by author (e.g., Keats
) or theme.
British Women Romantic Poets Project
An electronic collection of texts from the Shields Library, University of California at Davis. Includes poetry by British and Irish women written (but not necessarily published) between 1789 and 1832.
NeuRon: Digital Resources for Researching British Romanticism
A large collection of annotated links to online archives, databases, indexes, and editions.
A refereed scholarly website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. Includes an archive of Romantic-era texts, peer-reviewed literary criticism, bibliographies, images, and other material.
The "authors section" of this site is maintained by George P. Landow from the National University of Singapore and Brown University. Excellent overview of an author in Victorian times, including political, religious, and social contexts.
Victorian Women's Writers Project
Complete, searchable texts of women writing in English during the 19th century in a range of genres, including poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. From Indiana University.