Produced by the Modern Language Association, the print version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Click on Browse Subject Guides or select one of the suggested subject guides below:
Databases contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.
Arts & Literature
Scholarly articles on literature, languages, linguistics, film, folklore, and rhetoric, from all cultures.
MLA Search Tip: MLA International Bibliography is an index, so you're searching a small amount of information about each source, rather than the source itself. Trying a variety of keywords is often essential to getting the best results in MLA. Make note of relevant keywords and subject terms that come up in your initial searches, and use those terms to find more. The MLA Thesaurus, linked at the top of the search screen, can also be helpful for identifying search terms.
Full-text scholarly journal articles and books on all aspects of literature, along with literary reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and topic overviews) and the full text of thousands of literary works from the 8th century to the present.
Biographies, topic overviews, reviews, and scholarly analysis of authors and works from all genres, eras, and regions of the world.
Full-text essays covering a range of modern and historical views of individual 19th-century authors, works, movements, and themes.
Scholarly and popular articles and book chapters on film and television history, theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present.
Historical Context
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of American and Canadian history, prehistory to present and searchable by historical time period.
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
Multidisciplinary
Full-text scholarly articles in all disciplines.
Scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years of many journals.
Books and journal articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
Find articles published in over 6000 scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications in the humanities and social sciences in over 60 languages, reaching back to 1665.
Dates: 1665 CE-present
