Library Research Guides: ENG 317: The Black, the Lady, and the Priest: Medieval Romance and the Politics of Race: Home

Welcome!

This guide provides some useful starting points for your research in ENG 317. If you would like help finding, evaluating, or citing sources, or would like to chat about any aspect of your research, please get in touch! You can email me or make an appointment directly on my calendar. See my contact information on this page>

Key Databases for Scholarly Articles

These databases contain a combination of full text articles and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books. When you find a citation only, use the Find It!@Wellesley link to get to the full text or request it through Interlibrary Loan (articles and book chapters only, currently). If you don't see a Find It! link, use the citation information to search for it in SuperSearch.

Best Bets

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures, 1963 to present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literary texts from 1600 to the present, with literary criticism full-text 1998 to present.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical and multilingual database of Middle Ages and Renaissance materials (400–1700) from more than 500 journals, 1859 to present.

Online Chaucer Bibliography
The Online Chaucer Bibliography includes materials from the Annotated Chaucer Bibliography published annually in Studies in the Age of Chaucer and is sponsored by the NCS and the library of the University of Texas at San Antonio. (Note: "Title" searching is searching for the beginning of the title, not for keywords in the title. Do not use Boolean AND/OR.)

Other Useful Databases

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on world history from 1450, excluding US & Canada, written since 1954.
Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Major ongoing international bibliography covering all aspects of classical studies from prehistory to the Middle Ages, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy. The online database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.

This resource allows only 2 users at a time. Please close your browser tab/window when you are finished.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, books, and essays on all aspects of religion, 1949 to present, with full text of more than 80 major religion and theology journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.

Search Tips

Use synonyms and truncation to find all the ways your topic is expressed--databases are very literal
Combine multiple concepts using AND / OR for best results

Sample topic: Chaucer's construction of marriage

(Chaucer OR "Franklin's Tale" OR "Wife of Bath's Tale") - synonymous concepts

AND

(marriage OR wyf* OR wife* OR housebonde OR husband OR [other specific examples]) - truncation

Digital Collections of Medieval Texts

TEAMS Middle English Text Series Online
Roman de la Rose Digital Library
An online library of all manuscripts containing the 13th-century poem Roman de la Rose. Joint project of the Sheridan Libraries of Johns Hopkins University and the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.
The Romaunt of the Rose Digital Manuscript
A digitized version of the Univ. of Glasgow's Hunter manuscript of The Romaunt of the Rose, ascribed to Chaucer. Can be compared to transcribed version or 1532 printed version.

ENG 317: The Black, the Lady, and the Priest: Medieval Romance and the Politics of Race

Other Guides to Try