Deadline for the 2025 Awards is February 14, 2025
Win up to $1000!
These awards were created to reward those students who take the time to develop a thoughtful, methodical, and scholarly approach to the research needed for their papers and projects, as well as to encourage students to develop good research techniques.
Find out more at the
Student Library Research Awards site
This guide provides some useful starting places and strategies for doing research for this course. I'm happy to work with you on any aspect of your research, from developing a research question to finding, evaluating, and citing sources. Feel free to email me or make an appointment on my calendar. See my contact info on this page.
SuperSearch can be a great place to cast a wide net, since it searches almost everything the library has (journal articles, books, films, newspaper articles, and more), in one easy-to-use interface. You can use the filters on the results screen to refine your search and improve your results.
Because SuperSearch contains so much content from so many different kinds of sources and academic disciplines, it can sometimes be hard to focus a search to get the most relevant results. At the same time, SuperSearch is also not comprehensive and can miss key sources. To search with more focus, precision, and depth, be sure to try the specialized databases recommended on this guide, or search the library catalog for books and films.
Handbook of British Romanticism (e-book) by 
The Cambridge Companion to British Romanticism by 
The Cambridge Companion to British Romantic Poetry (e-book)
The Cambridge Companion to the Sonnet (e-book)
The Cambridge Companion to English Poets (e-book)
The Cambridge Companion to Byron by 
The Cambridge Companion to Coleridge
The Cambridge Companion to Keats (e-book)
The Cambridge Companion to Mary Shelley by 
The Cambridge Companion to Shelley
The Cambridge Companion to Wordsworth
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Critical Terms for Literary Study (e-book)Biographies of people who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from ancient times to the present. Each short article is written by an expert scholar and concisely describes a person's life, accomplishments, and influence, citing relevant sources. Covers Roman-era Britain to 21st century; only deceased individuals are included.
Dates: 100 BCE-2020 CE
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography allows only 1 user at a time. Please close your browser tab/window when you are finished.
Leading comprehensive dictionary of the English language across the world. Each entry lists a word's changing meanings (including current definitions and ones that are obsolete), and illustrates those changes with quotations from literary texts, news sources, and historical records.
Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.