Library Research Guides: Albright Institute: 3: AI in the Korean DMZ

Background and Context

The SkyNet factor: Four myths about science fiction and the killer robot debate
2014 article on the reality of killer robots.
Losing Humanity: The Case Against Killer Robots
A 2012 report from Human Rights Watch, which gives a detailed background on their development and concerns a decade ago.
SuperSearch: Encyclopedia Articles & More
A SuperSearch search of encyclopedia articles and other background sources. This link takes you to results for the following search: ("killer robots" OR "lethal autonomous weapons systems") AND ("South Korea" OR DMZ OR "de-militarized zone" OR "demilitarized zone" OR "North Korea")
International Governance of Autonomous Military Robots
This article was published in 2014, and it gives a nice background on early concerns about lethal autonomous weapons systems (LAWS). There are a wealth of citations and references at the end, so check those out for additional sources.
Autonomous Weapons Systems and Meaningful Human Control: Ethical and Legal Issues
Provides readers with a compact account of ongoing academic and diplomatic debates about autonomy in weapons systems, that is, about the moral and legal acceptability of letting a robotic system to unleash destructive force in warfare and take attendant life-or-death decisions without any human intervention.
Mapping the Development of Autonomy in Weapon Systems
2017 report from the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI). A very long report, so skim certain sections to get an overview of the development of killer robots.
UNODA First Committee Draft Resolution on Lethal Autonomous Weapons Systems
This link takes you to the press release for the First Committee (Disarmament and International Security) draft resolution on lethal autonomous weapons systems (LAWS).

Statistics

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Data and statistics from many geographic areas around the world on a variety of topics including demographics, finance, criminal justice, education, energy, and more. You can create and download your own charts and graphs, and download data in a variety of formats.

CIA World Factbook
Detailed profiles of all of the countries of the world, including history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.

NK Pro This link opens in a new window
News, analysis, data, and research tools focused on North Korea. Includes articles and broadcasts from North Korean state media in English and Korean, tracking of leaders and their appearances, a directory of companies in the DPRK, and other information and analysis on a wide range of topics from scholars, diplomats, and defectors.

ETH Zurich International Conflict Research Group
Spatial data on ethnic groups and boundary conflicts.
Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals (2023)
The Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals 2023 presents interactive storytelling and data visualizations about the 17 Sustainable Development Goals. It highlights trends for selected targets within each goal and introduces concepts about how some SDGs are measured.

Organizations

Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch investigates and reports on abuses happening in all corners of the world. They are roughly 550 plus people of 70-plus nationalities who are country experts, lawyers, journalists, and others who work to protect the most at risk, from vulnerable minorities and civilians in wartime, to refugees and children in need. **This link takes you to their Killer Robots topic page.
United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs
The Office for Disarmament Affairs supports multilateral efforts aimed at achieving the ultimate goal of general and complete disarmament under strict and effective international control.
SIPRI - Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament.

Reports & Articles

PolicyFile Index
Covers a wide range of public policy topics, linking to reports and papers from think tanks, NGOs, and research organizations, 1990 to present. *Results for the search: "killer robots" OR "lethal autonomous weapons systems"
PolicyCommons
Policy Commons is a collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. *You need to create a free account. The above link takes you to the search: ("killer robots" OR "lethal autonomous weapons systems") AND ("South Korea" OR "North Korea" OR Korea OR DMZ OR "demilitarized zone" OR "de-militarized zone")
PAIS Index
Articles chronicling the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics, including policy-oriented literature of subjects such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, internatioanl law and relations, the environment, demography, public health, science and technology, and reports and commentary on public affairs from the serious general press. *The above link takes you to results for the search: ("killer robots" OR "lethal autonomous weapons systems") AND ("South Korea" OR "North Korea" OR Korea OR DMZ OR "demilitarized zone" OR "de-militarized zone")

Legal Sources

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Try searching the Law Journal Library for articles on legal solutions for your topic.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Try searching law reviews (under secondary sources) for articles on legal solutions for your topic.

News Sources

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new window
Broadcasts, news agency transmissions, and government statements from around the globe translated into English, with a focus on Cold War issues and communist states.
Dates: 1941-1996 CE