Library Research Guides: Albright Institute: 2: Mapping the Deep Sea

Background and Context

Marine Bio: The Deep Sea
Brief overview of the deep sea.
Vehicles for Deep-Sea Exploration
2019 encyclopedia article by Adam Soule and Susan E. Humphris.
Marie Tharp pioneered mapping the bottom of the ocean 6 decades ago – scientists are still learning about Earth's last frontier
2020 article by Suzanne O'Connell on the history of deep sea mapping.
What does the Titan disaster mean for deep-sea tourism? Explorers weigh in.
2023 broadcast transcript from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) on the Titan disaster.

The Silent Deep: the discovery, ecology and conservation of the deep sea by Tony Koslow
Call Number: Place ILL Request
ISBN: 9780226451251
Publication Date: 2007-04-15
The Silent Deep tells the story of the exploration and discovery of the deep sea, the ecology of its diverse environments, and the impact of humans, highlighting the importance of global stewardship in keeping this delicate ecosystem alive and well.
Deep-Sea Mining: Resource Potential, Technical and Environmental Considerations by Rahul Sharma (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9783319525563
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
This comprehensive book contains contributions from specialists who provide a complete status update along with outstanding issues encompassing different topics related to deep-sea mining.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Data and statistics from many geographic areas around the world on a variety of topics including demographics, finance, criminal justice, education, energy, and more. You can create and download your own charts and graphs, and download data in a variety of formats.

GRID-Geneva
GRID-Geneva manages numerous high quality geospatial data sets at various scales (global, continental, national and subnational) on a variety of environment related themes.

Statista This link opens in a new window
International statistical data, reports, market insights, tables, and charts.

World Resources Institute
Center focuses on a number of specific initiatives, including projects on Air Quality, Energy Access, Indigenous Peoples and Local Communities (IPLCs), Climate Governance, Environmental Rights, Gender, and Climate Resilience Practice.

UN Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC)
Works at the interface of science, policy, and practice to tackle the global crisis facing nature and support the transition to a sustainable future for people and the planet
Global Environment Facility (GEF) - ABNJ
ABNJ topics page for the GEF. Describes support for international agreements relating to the oceans.
UN Food & Agriculture Organisation (FAO): Common Oceans
Since 2014, a global alliance of stakeholders and partners – including regional fisheries management organizations, intergovernmental organizations, civil society and the private sector – has come together in the Common Oceans Program to bolster the sustainable use of marine resources and biodiversity conservation in the ABNJ.

Policy Commons
Contains policy reports and documents from think tanks, NGOs (non-governmental organizations), and IGOs (intergovernmental organizations). Search results for: "deep sea" AND mapping. **You will need to create an account to view**
UNEP-WCMC ABNJ Deep Seas Project
Report from the UN Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC) provides an overview of studies designed to contribute to improving deep-sea fisheries management and biodiversity conservation in Areas Beyond National Jurisdiction (ABNJ).
A Safety Net for Ocean Fisheries: The Case for Stronger Protection of Essential Fish Habitat Under the Magnuson-Stevens Act
2021 report by Brad Sewell and Molly Masterton from the Natural Resources Defense Council.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Article abstracts, some with full-text, covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, from scholarly and general interest magazines.
PAIS Index - Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
Articles and reports on public policy, international relations, and world politics, 1915-present.
Dates: 1915 CE-Present
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Full-text public policy documents from think tanks, NGOs, and research organizations.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of international journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly literature, with a primary focus on STEM and social sciences. Article references are included in the record. Search by author, affiliation, topic and more, and search to see who cited a particular article.

UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS)
The United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea lays down a comprehensive regime of law and order in the world's oceans and seas establishing rules governing all uses of the oceans and their resources. It enshrines the notion that all problems of ocean space are closely interrelated and need to be addressed as a whole.
BBNJ Treaty
In 2018, after more than a decade of studies and two years of preparatory committee meetings, the United Nations Member States began negotiating the Agreement under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea on the conservation and sustainable use of marine biological diversity of areas beyond national jurisdiction (BBNJ Treaty). The Treaty, which includes binding and voluntary measures, aims to better implement the United Nations Convention on Law of the Sea, especially to protect and conserve the vast geographical area through better cooperation and coordination of various stakeholders.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal resources, many of which are full text. Includes law review articles, legislation, legal analysis, statutes, regulations, court cases, court filings and documents, news, and more.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Collections of government documents and scholarly articles on a wide range of legal topics, including civil rights, social justice, human rights, international law, the U.S. presidency, Congress, and more.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Current issues (mostly the past 45 days) of magazines and newspapers in their original color print layout in more than 60 languages, from over 150 countries. In addition to news, special interest magazines address topics including fashion, music, art, entertainment, food, family, technology, and more.