Library Research Guides: Albright Institute: 1: Cashless Societies: The Case of Japan

Background and Context

Japanese Ministry of Economy, Trade, and Industry: Study Group Discussion
Short summary of discussions by the Study Group on the Future Direction of Cashless Payment.
How Japan is moving towards a cashless society with digital salary payments.
By Naoko Kutty and Naoko Tochibayashi. 2022 World Economic Forum press release on Japan's move towards a cashless society.

Cash in East Asia by Frank Rövekamp, Moritz Bälz, Hanns Günther Hilpert
ISBN: 9783319598468
Publication Date: 2017
Some of the information will be out of date, but some chapters can give you some background context on the Japanese system.
Who's Cashing In? by Atreyee Sen (Editor); Johan Lindquist (Editor); Marie Kolling (Editor)
ISBN: 9781789209150
Publication Date: 2020-08-01
Explores how different modes of cashlessness impact, transform and challenge the everyday lives and livelihoods of local communities.

CIA World Factbook
Detailed profiles of all of the countries of the world, including history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.

The use of noncash payment methods for regular payments and the household demand for cash: evidence from Japan
2020 article from the Japanese Economic Review by Fujiki, H. Make sure you check out the citations. Use this link to locate newer research that cites this article.
Cashless Japan: Unlocking Influential Risk on Mobile Payment Service
2021 article by Wei-Lun Chang, Li-Ming Chen, and Takako Hashimoto.
What Explains the Growing Global Demand for Cash?
2019 working paper by Sayuri Shirai and Eric Alexander Sugandi from the Asian Development Bank Institute.
Japan: Financial Sector Assessment Program-Technical Note on Regulation and Supervision of Fintech
IMF Technical Report on Japan from May 2024.
IMF Working Papers
Working papers from the International Monetary Fund on a variety of topics. Try searching: cashless AND Japan.
Policy Commons
Results for the search: cashless AND Japan. **You will need to create an account to view.**

PAIS Index - Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
Articles and reports on public policy, international relations, and world politics, 1915-present.
Dates: 1915 CE-Present
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and working papers on economics.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on all aspects of economics.

Japanese Ministry of Economy, Trade, and Industry
Official government website.
OECD - Japan
Japan country profile page from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Asian Development Bank
Publishes data and reports on its member countries, which includes Japan. About the ADB: "ADB assists its members, and partners, by providing loans, technical assistance, grants, and equity investments to promote social and economic development."
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 190 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Current issues (mostly the past 45 days) of magazines and newspapers in their original color print layout in more than 60 languages, from over 150 countries. In addition to news, special interest magazines address topics including fashion, music, art, entertainment, food, family, technology, and more.

Statista This link opens in a new window
International statistical data, reports, market insights, tables, and charts.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Data and statistics from many geographic areas around the world on a variety of topics including demographics, finance, criminal justice, education, energy, and more. You can create and download your own charts and graphs, and download data in a variety of formats.

OECD iLibrary Statistics
Statistics on a variety of topics and from many countries. Some data back to 1960.
IMF Data
Itemized financial data from 1948 for more than 200 countries. Data can be downloaded in Excel, tabbed text, etc.

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal resources, many of which are full text. Includes law review articles, legislation, legal analysis, statutes, regulations, court cases, court filings and documents, news, and more.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Collections of government documents and scholarly articles on a wide range of legal topics, including civil rights, social justice, human rights, international law, the U.S. presidency, Congress, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.