Library Research Guides: Albright Institute: 8: Social Media Regulation and Human Rights in Taiwan

Background and Context

Perspectives on Platform Regulation by Judit Bayer (Editor); Bernd Holznagel (Editor); Paivi Korpisaari (Editor); Lorna Woods (Editor)
ISBN: 9783848785575
Publication Date: 2021-11-22
Contains a chapter on Taiwan.
Resistance in the Era of Nationalisms by Hsin-i Sydney Yueh; Hsin-I Cheng
ISBN: 9781609177300
Publication Date: 2023-05-01
Taking a culture-centered approach to the communicative process of "glocalized resistance" in an era of rising nationalisms, the chapters in this volume address topics ranging from the rhetoric of political leaders and the language games of mass protesters on social media to resistant street performance. These chapters showcase the geocultural identity-in-the-making of the Taiwanese and Hong Kong people and offer insights into societies under imminent threat by an aggressive neighbor.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Search across more than 100 full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in the social and behavioral sciences.

Statista This link opens in a new window
International statistical data, reports, market insights, tables, and charts.
UN Data This link opens in a new window
Statistics and data from the United Nations and its agencies.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Data and statistics from many geographic areas around the world on a variety of topics including demographics, finance, criminal justice, education, energy, and more. You can create and download your own charts and graphs, and download data in a variety of formats.

UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
The Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (UN Human Rights) is the leading UN entity on human rights. We represent the world's commitment to the promotion and protection of the full range of human rights and freedoms set out in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Policy Commons
Policy Commons is a collection of research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. **You will need to create a free account to access. See search results for: Taiwan AND disinformation AND "human rights".

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Full-text public policy documents from think tanks, NGOs, and research organizations.
PAIS Index - Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
Articles and reports on public policy, international relations, and world politics, 1915-present.
Dates: 1915 CE-Present
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles on international relations and political science topics.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, magazines, and dissertations on international relations and political science.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on topics in anthropology, cognitive and linguistic sciences, economics, education, international relations, political science, criminal justice, and sociology, many of which are peer reviewed.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Collections of government documents and scholarly articles on a wide range of legal topics, including civil rights, social justice, human rights, international law, the U.S. presidency, Congress, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal resources, many of which are full text. Includes law review articles, legislation, legal analysis, statutes, regulations, court cases, court filings and documents, news, and more.