Library Research Guides: Albright Institute: 4: Indigenous Data Sovereignty in Oceania

Background and Context

The State of Open Data : Histories and Horizons by Tim Davies, Stephen B. Walker, Mor Rubinstein, Fernando Perini
Publication Date: 2019
The State of Open Data brings together over 60 authors from around the world to address these questions and to take stock of the real progress made to date across sectors and around the world, uncovering the issues that will shape the future of open data in the years to come.
Indigenous Data Sovereignty : Toward an Agenda by Tua Kukutai, John Taylor
ISBN: 9781760460303
Publication Date: 2016
Premised on the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, this book argues that indigenous peoples have inherent and inalienable rights relating to the collection, ownership and application of data about them.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Search across more than 100 full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in the social and behavioral sciences.

Participatory Design of Language and Culture Archives
2021 encyclopedia article by Christina Wasson. In addition to reading the article, check out the citations and terms related to data sovereignty that you might want to explore further.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Data and statistics from many geographic areas around the world on a variety of topics including demographics, finance, criminal justice, education, energy, and more. You can create and download your own charts and graphs, and download data in a variety of formats.

CIA World Factbook
Detailed profiles of all of the countries of the world, including history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.

Statista This link opens in a new window
International statistical data, reports, market insights, tables, and charts.
UN Data This link opens in a new window
Statistics and data from the United Nations and its agencies.

UN Department of Social and Economic Affairs: Indigenous Peoples
Topic page on indigenous peoples from the UN Department of Social and Economic Affairs.
United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII)
The United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII) is a high- level advisory body to the Economic and Social Council. The Forum was established on 28 July 2000 by resolution 2000/22, with the mandate to deal with indigenous issues related to economic and social development, culture, the environment, education, health and human rights.
Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research
The Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research (CAEPR) is Australia’s foremost social science research body focusing on Indigenous economic and social policy from a national perspective. CAEPR aims to undertake social science research on Indigenous policy and development which is excellent by the best international and disciplinary standards and that informs intellectual understanding, public debate, policy formation and community action.

Report to the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia on the Workshop Data Sovereignty for Indigenous Peoples: Current Practice and Future Needs (9th-10th July 2015)
Report by John Taylor and Tahu Kukutai (authors of a book in the Background & Context section above).
Policy Commons
Reports from nongovernmental organizations (NGOs), intergovernmental organizations (NGOs), and think tanks. Search results for: indigenous AND "data sovereignty" AND Oceania. **You will need to create an account to view**
A New Age Indigenous Instrument: Artificial Intelligence & Its Potential for (De)colonialized Data
2022 article by Ian Falefuafua and Terina Kamailelauli'i Fa'agau in Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Libteries Law Review.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and reviews in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on topics in anthropology, cognitive and linguistic sciences, economics, education, international relations, political science, criminal justice, and sociology, many of which are peer reviewed.
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) This link opens in a new window
International coverage of librarianship and information technology, including peer reviewed journals, conferences, magazines, and reports.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles, books, research reports and conference proceedings in librarianship and information technology.

UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples
Today the Declaration is the most comprehensive international instrument on the rights of Indigenous Peoples. It establishes a universal framework of minimum standards for the survival, dignity and well-being of the Indigenous Peoples of the world and it elaborates on existing human rights standards and fundamental freedoms as they apply to the specific situation of Indigenous Peoples.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Collections of government documents and scholarly articles on a wide range of legal topics, including civil rights, social justice, human rights, international law, the U.S. presidency, Congress, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal resources, many of which are full text. Includes law review articles, legislation, legal analysis, statutes, regulations, court cases, court filings and documents, news, and more.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Current issues (mostly the past 45 days) of magazines and newspapers in their original color print layout in more than 60 languages, from over 150 countries. In addition to news, special interest magazines address topics including fashion, music, art, entertainment, food, family, technology, and more.