Library Research Guides: Albright Institute: 3: Property Rights in Space

Background and Context

Property Rights
2012 encyclopedia article by John F. McCoy on property rights in outer space. Check out the citations for additional works.

The Politics and Perils of Space Exploration
2021 e-book by Linda Dawson on current trends in space development and exploration.
E-books on Space Law
E-books from the library catalog about the topic of space law.
Georgetown Law Research Guide on Space Law
A research guide from Georgetown Law School on space law. Many links are limited to Georgetown students, but you can see if we have them at Wellesley, and at the very least get an idea of terms and concepts that you might want to research.

“Who Dares, Wins:” How Property Rights in Space Could be Dictated by the Countries Willing to Make the First Move
2022 law journal article by law student Morgan M. DePagter.
UN Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA) Documents and Resolutions Database
Reports and documents from UNOOSA. Also check out their annual reports, conference documents, and more on their website.
Policy Commons
Reports and documents from non-governmental organizations, intergovernmental organizations, and think tanks. Search results for: property AND "outer space". **You will need to create an account to view**

PAIS Index - Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
Articles and reports on public policy, international relations, and world politics, 1915-present.
Dates: 1915 CE-Present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of international journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly literature, with a primary focus on STEM and social sciences. Article references are included in the record. Search by author, affiliation, topic and more, and search to see who cited a particular article.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Political science resources, including scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles and think tank reports. Covers international as well as U.S. topics and sources.

UN Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA)
The United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA) works to promote international cooperation in the peaceful use and exploration of space, and in the utilisation of space science and technology for sustainable economic and social development.
UN Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space
The Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS) was set up by the General Assembly in 1959 to govern the exploration and use of space for the benefit of all humanity: for peace, security and development.
International Institute of Space Law
The International Institute of Space Law (IISL) was founded in 1960. The purposes and objectives of the Institute include the cooperation with appropriate international organisations and national institutions in the field of space law and the carrying out of tasks for fostering the development of space law. It also includes the studies of legal and social science aspects of the exploration and use of outer space and the holding of meetings, colloquia and competitions on juridical and social science aspects of space activities.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Data and statistics from many geographic areas around the world on a variety of topics including demographics, finance, criminal justice, education, energy, and more. You can create and download your own charts and graphs, and download data in a variety of formats.
UN Data This link opens in a new window
Statistics and data from the United Nations and its agencies.
Statista This link opens in a new window
International statistical data, reports, market insights, tables, and charts.

UN Space Law Treaties and Principles
Documents relating to UN treaties on space law, include ratification materials and treaty text.

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal resources, many of which are full text. Includes law review articles, legislation, legal analysis, statutes, regulations, court cases, court filings and documents, news, and more.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Collections of government documents and scholarly articles on a wide range of legal topics, including civil rights, social justice, human rights, international law, the U.S. presidency, Congress, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.