Library Research Guides: WGST 307: Geisha Robots, Cyberpunk Warriors, and Asian Futures: Gendering/Racing Cyborgs and Robots

News Online

You will find many articles on this topic in popular tech and financial news outlets such as TechWire Asia, Nikkei Asian Review, Wired, and TechCrunch.

Try searching news.google.com using keywords like Asia, Japanese, and robot. You can filter results by location and topic, but keep in mind that these are current results.

To try a search in the archives of an online news outlet, type its base URL into the Wayback Machine and pick an archived site date. Some sites don't permit this, but many do.

Blade Runner 2049, Warner Brothers

Wikipedia's Public Domain Images
List of sites with images in the public domain
Wikimedia Commons
All of the images you'll find here have clear information about permission for use. Many are in the public domain.
Flickr.com
Browse Creative Commons images / Search for Creative Commons images / Search by color with MulticolorEngine
morgueFile
Contains free high resolution digital stock photography for use in all creative pursuits.
Compfight
Search Flickr and other photo sites for freely-available images. Narrow your search by Creative Commons license to find images for public use.

Artstor
Digitized images of art, architecture, and other forms of visual culture from around the world, from museums, archaeology, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference works.
Dates: BCE to present

Kanopy
A streaming video collection, including feature films and documentaries from PBS, BBC, Criterion, and more.
Please see this list of films Wellesley is currently licensing from Kanopy for title information.
Wellesley College students are also able to use Kanopy via the Wellesley Free Library in town. Students automatically have library cards there and are able to download six films a month. To activate your account, follow these instructions:
1. Call the Wellesley Free Library at 781-235-1610 ext. 1104 during their open hours.
2. Verify your name, Wellesley College mailing address, and college e-mail.
3. They will provide you with your card number and PIN.
4. Download and install the app, available for phones and tablets (you can also watch on a computer at wellesleylib.kanopy.com).
5. Input your card number and PIN.
Wellesley College staff and faculty also are able to use Kanopy via the Wellesley Free Library. If you are not already a patron there, you can get a temporary card online at wellesleyfreelibrary.org/library-card-application.

Video

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
YouTube
Try searching for robots on YouTube to see how they are gendered and raced, and how those robots are described. After your initial search, click on the link to filter your results, then click "creative commons" under Features.

Film Scripts

Drew's Script-O-Rama

Script City

Simply Scripts

New York Times, 1980-present
Current news and editorial content from NY Times newspaper in text-only format.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
New York Times, 1851-2020
All articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851 available in full text and with all page images. Includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Dates: 1851-2020 CE
OpinionArchives
Full text archives of many U.S. magazines focused on commentary and reviews of news, politics, culture, and the arts. Magazines include The New Yorker, Harper's, Commentary, Commonweal, Dissent, Moment, and the New York Review of Books from their first issue to their most recent.
Dates: 1850 CE-Present
Los Angeles Times, 1881-2000
Full-text newspaper, including articles, images, and ads.
Dates: 1881-2000 CE
Los Angeles Times, 1996-present
Full-text newspaper articles. Does not include images or ads.
Dates: 1996 CE-Present
Boston Globe, 1872-1989
Full-text newspaper, including articles, images, and ads.
Dates: 1872-1989 CE
Boston Globe, 1980-present
Full-text newspaper articles. Does not include images or ads.
Dates: 1980 CE - Present
Washington Post, 1877-2003
Full-text news articles, editorials, ads, images, and graphics from the newspaper.
Dates: 1877-2003 CE
Washington Post, 1996-present
Full-text news and editorial articles from the popular newspaper, with a particular focus on U.S. politics, law, and government. Does not include images, ads, or graphicstext only.
Dates: 1996 CE-Present