Library Research Guides: WGST 307: Geisha Robots, Cyberpunk Warriors, and Asian Futures: Asian Futures/Cities/Scapes

Tokyo Modern - I, II, and III
II: https://ocw.mit.edu/ans7870/21f/21f.027/tokyo_modern_02/index.html
III: https://ocw.mit.edu/ans7870/21f/21f.027/tokyo_modern_03/index.html

“100 Views of Great Tokyo in the Shōwa Era,” a series of woodblock prints produced between 1928 and 1940 by Koizumi Kishio, explore the rebirth of Tokyo in the years following the Great Kantō earthquake of 1923. Koizumi’s prints depict the transformation of an important Asian city as it embraced modernity, maintained traditions, and became the site of ultimately disastrous political policies.
Beijing City Lab
Micro-data and maps Beijing and/or all of China, mostly mined from OpenStreetMap

Wikipedia's Public Domain Images
List of sites with images in the public domain
Wikimedia Commons
All of the images you'll find here have clear information about permission for use. Many are in the public domain.
Flickr.com
Browse Creative Commons images / Search for Creative Commons images / Search by color with MulticolorEngine
morgueFile
Contains free high resolution digital stock photography for use in all creative pursuits.
Compfight
Search Flickr and other photo sites for freely-available images. Narrow your search by Creative Commons license to find images for public use.

Artstor
Digitized images of art, architecture, and other forms of visual culture from around the world, from museums, archaeology, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference works.
Dates: BCE to present

Kanopy
Large streaming video collection, including feature films and documentaries. PBS, BBC, Criterion, and more.

Try searching for films that employ techno-orientalist themes; a keyword search will search the transcript of the film.
Please see this list of films Wellesley is currently licensing from Kanopy for title information.
Wellesley College students are also able to use Kanopy via the Wellesley Free Library in town. Students automatically have library cards there and are able to download six films a month. To activate your account, follow these instructions:
1. Call the Wellesley Free Library at 781-235-1610 ext. 1104 during their open hours.
2. Verify your name, Wellesley College mailing address, and college e-mail.
3. They will provide you with your card number and PIN.
4. Download and install the app, available for phones and tablets (you can also watch on a computer at wellesleylib.kanopy.com).
5. Input your card number and PIN.
Wellesley College staff and faculty also are able to use Kanopy via the Wellesley Free Library. If you are not already a patron there, you can get a temporary card online at wellesleyfreelibrary.org/library-card-application.
Films on Demand
Video streaming service for educational films and documentaries, focusing on history, music, and dance.

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
YouTube
after your initial search, click on the link to filter your results, then click "creative commons" under Features.
Music
- Free Music Archive
  an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads. Conditions of use vary and are determined by the rightsholders themselves (see their FAQ for details).
- Legal Music for Videos
  The Creative Commons site maintains a list of links to sites offering music licensed under CC.
- ccMixter
  ccMixter is a community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up, or interact with music in whatever way you want.
- Jamendo
  All the music on jamendo is available under one of the six Creative Commons licenses. They authorize free download and enable the artists to promote their music while protecting their rights.

Search news sites and papers for stories about Asia and surveillance, reviews of movies that include themes of Asian futurism, and reports on Asian cities and technology.

CNN: Future Cities Asia
From Kolkata to Seoul, CNN's Future Cities Asia series explores city planning, tech, infrastructure and connectivity innovations across Asia.

New York Times, 1980-present
Current news and editorial content from NY Times newspaper in text-only format.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
Boston Globe, 1980-present
Full-text newspaper articles. Does not include images or ads.
Dates: 1980 CE - Present
OpinionArchives
Full text archives of many U.S. magazines focused on commentary and reviews of news, politics, culture, and the arts. Magazines include The New Yorker, Harper's, Commentary, Commonweal, Dissent, Moment, and the New York Review of Books from their first issue to their most recent.
Dates: 1850 CE-Present
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and Native presses. Filter by ethnic group and language.
Dates: 1960 CE-Present
Los Angeles Times, 1996-present
Full-text newspaper articles. Does not include images or ads.
Dates: 1996 CE-Present
Los Angeles Times, 1881-2000
Full-text newspaper, including articles, images, and ads.
Dates: 1881-2000 CE
Washington Post, 1996-present
Full-text news and editorial articles from the popular newspaper, with a particular focus on U.S. politics, law, and government. Does not include images, ads, or graphicstext only.
Dates: 1996 CE-Present