Library Research Guides: WGST 307: Geisha Robots, Cyberpunk Warriors, and Asian Futures: Yellow Peril Tropes: The Octopus

Check out the tips on the Art and Architecture library guide for finding art and images!

Image Resources Spotlight

The San Francisco Illustrated Wasp

“What Shall We Do With Our Boys” – 3 March 1882 by George Frederick Keller for The San Francisco Illustrated Wasp

From Wikipedia: The Wasp was founded as a weekly satire magazine in San Francisco in 1876. Political cartoons from The Wasp are often cited in Asian-American anti-defamation materials as an example of early stereotyping of Chinese immigrants.

Thomas Nast Cartoons
Nast was a political cartoonist who drew illustrations for the Wasp and other publications. Click the link for his Chinese cartoons.

Yellow Peril!

Yellow Peril Archive
This is the official, ever-expanding archive of the Yellow Peril! site. Here, you can explore the images, artifacts, and texts that have seared the imminent threat of the Yellow Peril–and other imagined racial terrors–into the collective Western psyche.
Online Archive of California: The Chinese in California, 1850-1925
Illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials. Try searching 'cartoon' or 'wasp'.
Ohio State University: Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum
The Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum houses the world’s largest collection of materials related to cartoons and comics, including original art, books, magazines, journals, comic books, graphic novels, archival materials, and newspaper comic strip pages and clippings.
Yellow Promise/Yellow Peril
Imperial Japan’s 1904–05 war against Tsarist Russia changed the global balance of power. The first war to be depicted internationally in postcards is captured here in dramatic images from the Leonard A. Lauder Collection of Japanese Postcards at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. Click the link on the right, 'image gallery'.
Calisphere
American war posters and other war-related ephemera from various United States governement agencies or private publishers. Broad catagories present include: bonds and war finance, civil defense, civilian participation (food supply, health and safety, labor, non-combatant service, rationing and conservation, war production, etc.), espionage, military operations, military recruiting, international relations (pro-Allied or anti-Axis propaganda), and patriorism. Try searching for Japan.

Artstor

Digitized images of art, architecture, and other forms of visual culture from around the world, from museums, archaeology, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference works.
Dates: BCE to present

Wikipedia's Public Domain Images
List of sites with images in the public domain
Wikimedia Commons
All of the images you'll find here have clear information about permission for use. Many are in the public domain.
Flickr.com
Browse Creative Commons images / Search for Creative Commons images / Search by color with MulticolorEngine
morgueFile
Contains free high resolution digital stock photography for use in all creative pursuits.
Compfight
Search Flickr and other photo sites for freely-available images. Narrow your search by Creative Commons license to find images for public use.

New York Times, 1851-2020

All articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851 available in full text and with all page images. Includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Dates: 1851-2020 CE
OpinionArchives
Cross-searchable full-text archives of many news & cultural commentary magazines. Harper's Illustrated Magazine in particular may have articles and images related to this topic.
America's Historical Newspapers

Full text of more than 1,000 historical U.S. newspapers. Contains Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922, and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.
Dates: 1690-1998 CE
Boston Globe, 1872-1994

Full-text newspaper, including articles, images, and ads.
Dates: 1872-1994 CE
Washington Post, 1877-2003

Full-text news articles, editorials, ads, images, and graphics from the newspaper.
Dates: 1877-2003 CE
Los Angeles Times, 1881-2000

Full-text newspaper, including articles, images, and ads.
Dates: 1881-2000 CE
American Periodicals, 1740-1940
Searchable full-text facsimiles of more than 1110 American periodicals from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Try limiting by type - cartoon, advertisement, etc to get different kinds of results.
British Periodicals

Full text of nearly 500 British journals, magazines, and newspapers covering literature, philosophy, history, science, arts, and social sciences.
Dates: 1681-1939 CE
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971

More than 130 newspapers published by and for American ethnic groups, with German-American, Irish-American, and Japanese-American papers forming the bulk. English language news is predominant.
Dates: 1799-1971 CE

Persuasive Cartography at Cornell
This is a collection of “persuasive” cartography: more than 800 maps intended primarily to influence opinions or beliefs - to send a message - rather than to communicate geographic information. Browse categories and try a keyword search.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 87,000 maps and related images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific, Arctic, Antarctic, and the World.

WGST 307: Geisha Robots, Cyberpunk Warriors, and Asian Futures: Yellow Peril Tropes: The Octopus

Yellow Peril Tropes: The Octupus

Image Resources Spotlight