This guide provides some useful starting points for your research in KOR 256. If you would like help finding, evaluating, or citing sources, or would like to chat about any aspect of your research, please get in touch! You can email me or make an appointment on my calendar. See my contact information on this guide.
SuperSearch can be a great place to cast a wide net, since it searches almost everything the library has (journal articles, books, films, newspaper articles, and more), in one easy-to-use interface. You can use the filters on the results screen to refine your search and improve your results.
Because SuperSearch contains so much content from so many different kinds of sources and academic disciplines, it can sometimes be hard to focus a search to get the most relevant results. At the same time, SuperSearch is also not comprehensive and can miss key sources. To search with more focus, precision, and depth, be sure to try the specialized databases recommended on this guide, or search the library catalog for books and films.
To find other databases for your research, check out our full Database A-Z list. You can filter by Subject (organized by academic departments and programs at Wellesley) or by Database Type (scholarly articles, newspapers, primary sources, etc.)
Specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, companions, and other reference sources can be very helpful for exploring a topic. They can summarize knowledge around a topic, synthesize scholarly discussions, and define key concepts. They often include bibliographies as well, making them a good resource for identifying key books and articles on a topic. Try searching for a topic in one of the following databases to search multiple reference sources at once.
Oxford Bibliographies are research guides in a variety of subject areas. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship across a wide variety of topics.
An interdisciplinary research tool that allows you to search over 300 reference works simultaneously, including limiting to audio or visual materials.
The Handbook of Language, Gender, and Sexuality by 
The Handbook of Discourse Analysis by 
The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction [e-book]
The Cambridge Handbook of Sociolinguistics
The Routledge Handbook of Sociolinguistics Around the World
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Dangerous Women: Gender and Korean Nationalism by 
Writing Women in Korea: Translation and Feminism in the Colonial Period by 
Under Construction: The Gendering of Modernity, Class, and Consumption in the Republic of Korea by 
Militarized Modernity and Gendered Citizenship in South Korea by 
Korean Women and Culture by Large streaming video collection, including feature films and documentaries from PBS, BBC, Criterion, and more.
Please see this list of films Wellesley is currently licensing from Kanopy for title information.
---
Wellesley College students are also able to use Kanopy via the Wellesley Free Library in town. Students automatically have library cards there and are able to download six films a month. To activate your account, follow these instructions:
Wellesley College staff and faculty also are able to use Kanopy via the Wellesley Free Library. If you are not already a patron there, you can get a temporary card online at wellesleyfreelibrary.org/library-card-application.
Streaming over 1800 documentary films across a broad range of disciplines.
Over 3000 educational films and documentaries on history, music, and dance.
Video from Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers, from the early 1900s to the late 1980s, covering everyday life and society, culture, the Cold War, memory and current affairs.
