Library Research Guides: EAST ASIAN LANGUAGES & CULTURES: Home

New Resource!

Cultural Japan
Digital resources related to Japanese culture drawn from museums, libraries, and other institutions around the world. Browse over a million items by category, person, or era, or search across all collections and use a variety of filters to focus your search.

EALC at Wellesley

East Asian Languages & Cultures Department

Student Organizations

Asian Student Union
Chinese Students' Association
Japan Club
Korean Students Association

Related Guides

EAST ASIAN STUDIES
by Karen Storz Last Updated Jan 30, 2025 1 views this year

New to East Asian Studies?

New to East Asian studies? Check out this guide from Harvard University. (Note: some of the information in here focuses specifically on Harvard courses, but the advice is still relevant.)

A Student's Guide to Writing in East Asian Studies

SuperSearch

Key Databases

These databases contain a combination of full text articles and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.

Asia-Studies Full-text Online This link opens in a new window
research reports, statistics, analysis - most in English
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971 - most in English
China Academic Journals - Literature/History/Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of Chinese journals in literature, history, and philosophy, in Chinese.

CiNii
Japanese-language index to articles, books & journals.

KCI Korean Journal Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from multidisciplinary journals covered in Korea Citation Index, which contains bibliographic information for scholarly literature published in Korea, 1980 to present. Search in Korean or English.
Siku Quanshu This link opens in a new window
A full-text primary source archive of classical Chinese texts from the reign of Emperor Qianlong.
This resource is only accessible while on-campus or using VPN.
Use of this resource requires a software download.
Dates: 1773-1782 CE
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on literature, languages, linguistics, film, folklore, and rhetoric, from all cultures.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles and book chapters on film and television history, theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Articles on film and television from scholarly and popular film journals as well as a selection of encyclopedia articles and other reference sources.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews on all aspects of linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

East Asian Languages and your computer

Are you having difficulties typing in CJK on your keyboard? Get help!

Your Librarian

Karen Storz

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

781-283-3372
kstorz@wellesley.edu

Research & Instruction Librarian
Office: Clapp Library 218B

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages & Cultures, East Asian Studies, English, German & German Cultural Studies, Italian Studies, Latin American Studies, Portuguese, Russian & Russian Area Studies, Spanish