Library Research Guides: EAST ASIAN LANGUAGES & CULTURES: Chinese

Chinese Literature

Ancient and Early Medieval Chinese Literature (vol. 2) by David R. Knechtges (Volume Editor); Taiping Chang (Volume Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
Ancient and Early Medieval Chinese Literature (vol. 3 & 4) by David R. Knechtges (Volume Editor); Taiping Chang (Volume Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
The Cambridge History of Chinese Literature - To 1375 by Kang-i Sun Chang & Stephen Owen (Eds)
Call Number: Clapp PL2265 .C36 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Guide to Chinese Literature by Wilt Idema and Lloyd Haft
Call Number: Clapp Ref . DS703.4 .M5 74
Comprehensive overview of 3000 years of Chinese literary history. (1997)
Oxford Dictionary of Chinese Literature [e-resource] by Taiping Chang
Concise A-Z entries cover key terms, figures, schools, movements, and literary works from antiquity to the present day. (2017)
Historical dictionary of modern Chinese literature by Li-hua Ying
Call Number: Clapp PL2303 .Y59 2010
Focus is on literature written in Chinese in mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and the Chinese diaspora from the May Fourth Movement (1919) to the present. (2010)
A Selective Guide to Chinese Literature 1900-1949
Call Number: Clapp Ref PL2302 .S45 1988
ISBN: 9004078800
Volume 1: The Novel
Volume 2: The Short Story
Volume 3: The Poem
Volume 4: The Drama
A Dictionary of Chinese Symbols: Hidden symbols in Chinese life and thought by Wolfram Eberhard
Call Number: Clapp Ref DS721 .E32613 1986

History of China

The Cambridge History of Ancient China by Michael Loewe; Edward L. Shaughnessy
Call Number: Clapp DS741.5 .C35 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Cambridge History of China by John K. Fairbank and Denis C. Twitchett (Eds)
Call Number: Clapp DS735 .C3145
Multiple volumes
Science and Civilisation in China by Joseph Needham (Ed.)
Call Number: Clapp DS721 .N39

Online Chinese-English/English-Chinese Dictionary

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Select Chinese for a Chinese/English and English/Chinese dictionary. Usage examples and illustrative phrases, aural pronunciations, and more.

See additional dictionaries

Chinese-Language Databases

See the Find Articles page of this guide for other databases relevant for research in Chinese Studies.

China Academic Journals - Literature/History/Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of Chinese journals in literature, history, and philosophy, in Chinese.
Siku Quanshu This link opens in a new window
A full-text primary source archive of classical Chinese texts from the reign of Emperor Qianlong.
This resource is only accessible while on-campus or using VPN.
Use of this resource requires a software download.
Dates: 1773-1782 CE

Selected Reference Works in Chinese Studies

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.

Encyclopedia of Modern China by David Pong, Ed.
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture
Call Number: Clapp Reference DS779.23 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Chinese Film
Publication Date: 1999
Alphabetically organized entries on directors, genres, themes, and actors from mainland China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan as well as 300 film synopses. A substantial historical section incorporates material on the main studios and analyzes the impact of Chinese film abroad and at home.
China Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the People's Republic
Call Number: Clapp Ref DS777.6 .C458 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy
Call Number: Clapp Ref B126 .E496 2003
Cultural Atlas of China by Caroline Blunden and Mark Elvin
Call Number: Clapp Ref DS721 .B56 1998
General overview of China, with many illustrations and maps.
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Chinese Culture
Call Number: Clapp DS775.2 .C452424 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The volume acknowledges the interconnected nature of the different cultural forms, from 'high culture' such as literature, religion and philosophy to more popular issues such as sport, cinema, performance and the internet. Each chapter is written by a world expert in the field.
Handbook of Contemporary China
Publication Date: 2011
Covers a wide range of topics including: development, politics, society, law, population, ethnicity, foreign relations, environment, urbanization, higher education, religion, literature, cinema, leisure and consumption, and internet and society.

Chinese Film

Directory of World Cinema: China
Publication Date: 2012
Directory of World Cinema: China 2
Publication Date: 2015

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. A search for (china OR chinese) AND (film OR cinema) will bring up overview articles and bibliographies on a wide range topics related to Chinese film.

Encyclopedia of Chinese Film
Publication Date: 1999
Alphabetically organized entries on directors, genres, themes, and actors from mainland China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan as well as 300 film synopses. A substantial historical section incorporates material on the main studios and analyzes the impact of Chinese film abroad and at home.
The Oxford Handbook of Chinese Cinemas
Call Number: Clapp PN1993.5.C4 O94 2013
Publication Date: 2013

"Cinema" by Rui Zhang
Chapter in Handbook of Contemporary China, 2011
Chinese Film & Media Studies Bibliography
Compiled and continuously updated by the Modern Chinese Literature and Culture Resource Center at Ohio State University
more...less...
You can use SuperSearch to find articles and books in this bibliography, and use Interlibrary Loan to request anything we don't have!

Dictionaries

Tuttle Concise Chinese Dictionary
Publication Date: 2012
Tuttle Learner's Chinese-English Dictionary
Publication Date: 2015
Chinese-English Dictionary
Call Number: Clapp Ref q PL1455 .P44
Chinese-English handbook of idioms = Han ying chʻeng yü shou tsʻe
Call Number: Clapp Ref PL1271 .C44 1987
Chinese-English dictionary of Chinese idioms
Call Number: Clapp Library PL1273 .H368 2000
The Facts on File English/Chinese visual dictionary : look up the word from the picture, find the picture from the word
Call Number: Clapp Ref PL1455 .C675 1988