Library Research Guides: ITALIAN: Find Articles

Database Spotlight - Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts is the most comprehensive database of scholarly research on history outside of North America.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Find articles and books on world history from 1450 (excluding US & Canada), written since 1955. Includes material in Italian and many other languages. Can be co-searched with America: History & Life.

Other Guides to Try

Click on Browse Subject Guides or select one of the suggested subject guides below:

ART & ARCHITECTURE
by Brooke Henderson Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 351 views this year
CINEMA & MEDIA STUDIES
by Karen Storz Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 154 views this year
Music
by Carol Lubkowski Last Updated Mar 15, 2024 293 views this year
WOMEN'S & GENDER STUDIES
by Sarah Moazeni Last Updated Feb 28, 2024 61 views this year
JEWISH STUDIES
by Sarah Moazeni Last Updated Jan 4, 2024 21 views this year

Italian Search Tip

For databases that include content in both English and Italian:

...don't forget to search using both English AND Italian terms!

Key Databases

Databases contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books. Check out our full A-Z Databases list and sort by Subject or Database Type to find other databases for your topic.

Arts & Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find books, book chapters, and articles on topics in languages, literature (including film), folklore, and linguistics, in many languages, including Italian.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literary texts from 1600 to the present, with literary criticism full-text 1998 to present.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and full-text critical analysis of authors from all genres and eras. Mostly in English, but some French, German, and Spanish content.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Find articles and book chapters on film and television (some in Italian) published from 1914 to present.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of art, 1984 to present (abstracts), 1995 to present (full text). The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.

Italinemo
Search articles from over 100 periodicals in Italian literary and cultural studies, from 2000-present, many in Italian. Request the full text through Interlibrary Loan.

History & Social Sciences

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, book chapters, and books on historical subjects (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles are in English, Italian, and other languages.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, think-tank reports, working papers. Comprised of four political science databases, which can also be searched individually: PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service), Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Political Science Database, and Policy File Index Some material in Italian.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find articles, books, and book chapters on topics in sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Some content in Italian.

Social Science Premium Collection
International coverage of scholarly literature in the social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, education, and more. Includes content in Italian

Women's & Gender Studies

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
With a focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, this collection gathers historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and changes in gender roles, including articles dating back as far as the 1970s. Some content in Italian.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles and books on women's studies, feminism, and gender studies, 1972 to present. Some content in Italian.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on topics pertaining to sexuality and gender identity, including full text for over 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines, and regional newspapers.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles from scholarly & popular publications in all disciplines. Limited Italian-language content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years. Some content in Italian. Use the Advanced Search to filter by language.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Use this to find articles in selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the last five years. Some journals are covered back to the mid-1990s. Limited Italian content
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
an index to articles published in over 4,500 periodicals, in as many as 40 languages, and covering topics in the humanities and social sciences. 1665-1995
Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
find citations of publications on all aspects of classical studies published in French, English, German, Italian, or Spanish.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A bibliographical and multilingual database of Middle Ages & Renaissance materials (400-1700) from over 500 journals, 1859 to present