Library Research Guides: CLASSICAL STUDIES: Find Articles

Databases

Databases contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.

= key resource

Année Philologique
Major ongoing international bibliography covering all aspects of classical studies from prehistory to the Middle Ages, published in English, French, German, Italian, or Spanish.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
Use this database to find books, book chapters, and articles on topics in languages, literature (including film), folklore, and linguistics, in many languages. Limited full-text.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Articles on architecture, archaeology, planning, interior design, and historic preservation. From 1977 to the present.

History

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to articles, book chapters, and books on historical subjects (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR
A database that contains full-text access to scholarly collection of journals that cover the major disciplines, including language and literature. JSTOR does not contain the most recent issues (previous 3-5 years).
Project MUSE
Selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the last 3-5 years.
Academic Search Complete
articles from scholarly & popular publications in all disciplines
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
an index to articles published in over 4,500 periodicals, in as many as 40 languages, and covering topics in the humanities and social sciences. 1665-1995

SuperSearch

Other Guides to Try

Click on Browse Subject Guides or select one of the suggested subject guides below:

ART & ARCHITECTURE
by Brooke Henderson Last Updated Nov 7, 2025 770 views this year
ENGLISH & COMPARATIVE LITERATURE
by Karen Storz Last Updated Nov 17, 2025 133 views this year
HISTORY
by Sarah Moazeni Last Updated Nov 11, 2025 143 views this year
THEATRE
by Laura O'Brien Last Updated Nov 17, 2025 236 views this year