Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SuperSearch Tips & Tricks
SuperSearch can be a great way to search for articles on a topic that crosses several disciplines.
Put key terms into SuperSearch, then on the results page use the filters to search for scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles.
When you see a promising article, look at the journal it's from - it might be a good one for your research! Click on the link to search for other, related articles in that journal.
See a good journal in your syllabus and want to see if we have access to more articles from it here? Put the title of the journal into SuperSearch and look on the right panel of the results page - if we have it, it will come up in the "Publication Finder"!
Search Selected Databases
To find additional databases relevant to your research interests, go to the Library's Databases A-Z list and use the Subjects menu.
JSTOR African Studies Journals and Books
Search through 63 journals and over 100 books from African American Studies. Note: the last 3-5 years of articles are not available for the majority of these journals on JSTOR.
JSTOR: Latin American Studies
Search through 56 journals and over 900 books in the area Latin American Studies. Note: the last 3-5 years of articles are not available for the majority of these journals on JSTOR.
Contains the Africana Periodical Literature Database, African Women Bibliographic Database, and links to several other very useful indexes. Good bibliography of articles on Africa. Use with SuperSearch to find the full text of listed articles. Consult the FAQ
for search tips. (No Boolean searching)
Comprehensive index to the literature of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research
Art Full Text
Articles on all aspects of art, 1984 to present (abstracts), 1995 to present (full text). The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Citations and abstracts for significant writings on music: journal articles, conference proceedings, Festschrifts, books & dissertations, 1967 to present
MLA International Bibliography
Index to publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures, 1963 to present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Index to articles, books, and essays on all aspects of religion, 1949 to present, with full text of more than 80 major religion and theology journals.
A bibliography of books and index of journal articles on Islam and the Muslim world, 1906 to present.
Academic Search Complete
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.