Library Research Guides: AFR 299: Caribbean Cultural Expressions & the Diaspora: Context & Overviews

Why Use Reference Materials?

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

781-283-3372
kstorz@wellesley.edu

Research & Instruction Librarian
Office: Clapp Library 218B

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages & Cultures, East Asian Studies, English, German & German Cultural Studies, Italian Studies, Latin American Studies, Portuguese, Russian & Russian Area Studies, Spanish

If I'm not on chat and you need immediate assistance, you can use the main library Ask Us chat.

Oxford African American Studies Center
More than 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field, drawn from Oxford University Press reference works, with primary source documents and maps. Includes Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, The Dictionary of African Biography, The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought, and The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography
Credo Reference
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.

Keywords for Caribbean Studies
A project by Caribbean Digital that explores selected keywords through curated digital artifacts introduced with short essays

The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions (e-book)
Publication Date: 2013
African Caribbeans: A Reference Guide (e-book)
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (e-book)
Publication Date: 2008
Almost 6,000 entries provide a multidisciplinary view of Latin American & Caribbean history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters, and the arts.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures (e-book)
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture (e-book)
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 (e-book)
Publication Date: 2004
The Routledge Companion to Anglophone Caribbean Literature (e-book)
Publication Date: 2011
Caribbean Autobiography: Cultural Identity and Self-representation (e-book)
Publication Date: 2002
Covers works from the colonial era up to the present day, reflecting the entire range of autobiographical practice, including the slave narrative and testimonial, written and oral narratives, spiritual autobiographies, fiction, serial autobiography, verse, diaries and journals, elegy, and parody.
Afro-Caribbean Religions: An Introduction to Their Historical, Cultural, and Sacred Traditions (e-book) by Nathaniel Samuel Murrell
Publication Date: 2010