Library Research Guides: SPAN 302: Cervantes: Find Articles

Search Tip

Use synonyms & truncation to find all the ways your topic might be expressed—databases are very literal
Combine multiple concepts using AND / OR for best results

Sample topic: Cervantes' treatment of social class

(Cervantes OR "Don Quixote" OR "Don Quijote") - synonymous concepts

AND

(class OR aristoc* OR duke OR peasant OR [other specific examples]) - truncation

Most useful databases

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
Articles on all things literary - all genres, all cultures, all languages
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly articles in all fields, up to 3 to 5 years ago (not recent articles!). Tips to improve your results in JSTOR:
- go to Advanced Search
- below the search boxes, select Type: Article and Discipline (of journals): Language & Literature
Project MUSE
Journal articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
Index to articles published in over 4500 journals in the humanities & social sciences in 40 languages

Cervantes: Bulletin of the Cervantes Society of America
Browse issues from 1981-2011. To search through all issues, use the MLA International Bibliography.

to find the full text of an article in a database, if you just see a citation: Look for the Find It! @ Wellesley button to link to the full text (online if available, or in print, or by Interlibrary Loan request if we don't own the journal)
to find the full text of an article from a print citation, use the Article Locator (fill in the journal title, year, volume, issue, and pages if you have them)