Library Research Guides: ES/POL 325: International Environmental Law: Find News, Reports, & Websites

Environmental News

Newpapers & other media may discuss the negotiation process, new signatories, or other important developments

Greenwire This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy.
Dates: 1969 CE-Present

Environmental News Network
Offers a global perspective on environmental news. Includes news articles, press releases & in-depth reports.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.

Historical Newspapers (for older treaties)
Visit our News Guide for links to historical news articles.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present

Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) and Reports

NGOs may lobby to get governments to sign treaties, monitor their compliance, and call out those who fail to comply.

Think Tank Search
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses.
NGO Research Guide
Research guide on locating information on NGOs from the University of Michigan Library.

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Full-text public policy documents from think tanks, NGOs, and research organizations.
PAIS Index - Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
Articles and reports on public policy, international relations, and world politics, 1915-present.
Dates: 1915 CE-Present

New York Times

New York Times, 1980-present This link opens in a new window
Current news and editorial content from NY Times newspaper in text-only format.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
Full access to the current edition. You must be on campus or using the VPN to register, and accounts must be renewed every 180 days. See the NYT Academic Pass guide for more information.
New York Times, 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
All articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851 available in full text and with all page images. Includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Dates: 1851-2020 CE

Key Websites for Supporting Information

United Nations Documentation: Research Guide -- The Environment
Research Guide from the UN.
United Nations Digital Library
Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications. Also includes some commercial publications and other non-UN sources. UNBISnet also provides instant access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages of the UN (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish), including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward.
Center for International Environmental Law
The Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL) has worked to strengthen and use international law and institutions to protect the environment, promote human health, and ensure a just and sustainable society. Includes full-text publications on diversity, climate change, and other topics.
OECD - Environment
OECD page on the environment. Statistics, papers, etc.
Library of Congress - Guide to Law Online
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information. Links for Nations of the World to look at constitutions, governmental bodies, and supporting departments of national governments.
UNEP Arendal - interactive maps
The GRID-Arendal Maps & Graphics Library is an on-going project to collect and catalogue all graphic products that have been prepared for publications and web-sites from the last 15 years in a wide range of themes related to environment and sustainable development. There are currently 3064 graphics available in the database.
Environmental Law Programme - International Union for Conservation of Nature
The Environmental Law Programme is an integrated programme of activities that assists decision makers with information, legal analysis, advisory services, legislative drafting, mentoring and capacity building at national, regional and global levels.
Legal Information Institute - Environmental Law
A good alternative to Nexis Uni for relevant chapters in the U.S. Code and state statutes dealing with the environment. Also links to international sites.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports This link opens in a new window
Full-text, authoritative reports and analysis on major policy issues from the CRS, a non-partisan body of the U.S. legislative branch that provides research on topics of interest to Congress. Also contains current information on appropriations bills and the Congressional budget process.