Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For searching with precision, try one of these databases. They contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books. Check out our full Database A-Z list and sort by Subject to find other databases for your research topic. (For example, Cinema & Media Studies for film history, or Women & Gender Studies for gender-related topics.)
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on world history from 1450, excluding US & Canada, written since 1954.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of articles, books, and working papers on economics, 1969 to present, with full text for 400 journals.
PAIS Index - Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
Articles on political, social & economic issues, public affairs, 1915 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses, 1960 to present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Find articles on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, and more.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Selective annotated bibliography of articles, book chapters, and papers on Latin American life and culture, 1936 to present. Disciplines covered include anthropology (archeology and ethnology), art, geography, government and politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, political economy, and sociology.
Full text articles; open access.
LatAmPlus This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, open access journals in the humanities and social sciences relating to Latin America & the Caribbean.
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
Over 550 development indicators (people, economy, environment, global, states and markets), time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups, 1960 to present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search engine for scholarly literature in all disciplines; link to full-text articles in Wellesley-licensed databases.