Library Research Guides: LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES: Find Internet Resources

Key Sites

Latin Americanist Research Resources Project
Provides access to tables of contents of more than 800 journals published in Latin America, social sciences grey literature published in Latin America, and digital images of Mexican and Argentine presidential speeches from early 19th century to the present.
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection
University of Arizona Libraries. Digital collection of more than 150 years of news coverage documenting Mexicans and Mexican Americans. The collection features 20 significant publications, many in Spanish, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Additional websites

Latin American Public Opinion Project
From Vanderbilt University. It is the only survey of democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas (North, Central, South and the Caribbean).
Pew Hispanic Center
Research and statistics on Latinos/as.
Political Database of the Americas
From Georgetown University. Offers centralized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
Latin American Pamphlet Collection
From Harvard University. A repository of many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries.
Latin American Government Documents Archive
From the University of Texas. Seeks to preserve and facilitate access to a wide range of ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries.
List of Foreign Governments
Provides links to official governmental web sites for countries all over the world, including Latin America.
Digital Archive of Latin American & Caribbean Ephemera
Rare pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards that document political and social issues in the region.

Primary Source Collections

Colonial Latin America: Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Links to documents and sites on colonialism in Latin America.
Latin America: Freedom Archives
This collection contains paper, graphic, and audio materials from Central and South America and the Caribbean. Focus on Chile, Cuba, and Nicaragua.

The sub-collections within the Latin American collection include: Chile, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA), Nicaragua and Struggles in Latin America.
19th Century Latin American Sourcebook
Primary sources from many countries focusing on imperialism and independence.
20th Century Latin American Sourcebook
Primary sources from many countries.
Confidential Print: Latin America
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.
Hoover Institution Political Poster Collection
Over 30,000 political and cultural posters primarily from the mid-20th century, including hundreds of Latin and South American posters.
Latin American Posters: Princeton University
The posters included in this collection were created by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and services.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
Scarce and unique pamphlets, primarily from Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico, published during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Medieval Slavery
Sources on slavery in the Medieval period across the world, browsable by region and century. Includes digitized resources on the site as well as a bibliography of sources found elsewhere.

Slave Voyages
Searchable and sortable databases of the Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trades as well as the names of African people taken into captivity. Users can sort data on point of departure, gender, slave ship captain, and many many more variables. Site includes image galleries that contextualize data with historical maps, ship manifests, drawings, and more.
Biblioteca Digital Puertoriquena
La Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña de la Universidad de Puerto Rico es un repositorio en línea de imágenes y texto relacionadas con la historia y la cultura puertorriqueña.

Colonial Caribbean This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from the history of Caribbean territories under British colonial governance, including trade and shipping records, details of plantation life, colonial settlement, and more.
Dates: 1624-1870 CE

Puerto Rico: Freedom Archives
This collection contains sub-collections focused on political parties and organizations committed to the struggle for Puerto Rican independence, groups and organizations founded to support political prisoners and prisoners of war and general information.
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
Even though a significant number of items from earlier years have been included, the bulk of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards.
Castro Speech Database
This database includes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. All texts are in English.
Cuban Heritage Collection
"...thousands of titles of journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters published both in and outside Cuba, from colonial times to the present."
Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba Jose Marti
Digital Documents from the National Library of Cuba.
Radio Haiti Archive
Audio from Radio Haiti-Inter, documenting Haitian politics, society and culture from 1957 to 2003, bulk 1972-2003.
Guantanamo Bay Newspapers
University of Florida Digital Collections newspapers published on the Guantanamo Bay US Naval Base.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
Caribbean Sea Migration
Materials related to Cuban, Dominican and Haitian maritime migration from 1965-1996, including camps at the U.S. Naval Station, Guantánamo Bay, Cuba, 1991-1996.
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Bolivia, Diario de lucha
Digitized diary entries, maps, and other documents of Che Guevara.
Puerto Rican Civil Court Documents Collection
Handwritten documents that cover civil disputes over land, slaves, and livestock that occurred in the Arecibo appellate court district from 1844-1900.

Canadiana
Historical documents, monographs, and serials on Canada. Texts are searchable and include government documents, local newspapers, and some resources in First Nations languages.
Early Canadiana Online
This virtual library holds the most complete set of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines and government documents.
This includes material published from the time of the first European settlers to the first half of the 20th century.
The Jesuit Relations
(From the World History Encyclopedia) The Jesuit Relations, published in France from 1632 to 1673, were a series of annual reports from the Roman Catholic Jesuit missions in the lands claimed by France in North America. The Relations were written as an appeal to French Catholics in hopes of gathering the political and financial support that was essential for the maintenance of the missions.
Digital Archives Database Project
"View thousands of Métis historical documents, genealogical information, Hudson's Bay Company records, Church missionary records, and personal Métis accounts."
National Film Board of Canada
Over 3000 free film on Canadian history, First Nations peoples, environmentalism, and more.
The British Colonist: 1858-1980
Online archives of a Victoria BC newspaper. "The BritishColonist.ca website includes news about every B.C. premier and Canadian prime minister to hold office up to August 1980, along with stories on six British monarchs, 24 U.S. presidents, two world wars, the 1912 sinking of the Titanic and the 1969 moon landing."
City of Edmonton Photo Archives
Digital objects from Canadian history, primarily local and social topics.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
An index to printed primary sources about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Not all full text will be instantly available, use interlibrary loan for what is not.
Dates: 1493-1750 CE

Ad*Access
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
GEE Lindquist Native American Photographs
These photos depict the people, places, and practices of Native Americans and their communities from at least 34 States, plus Canada and Mexico in the period from 1909-1953.
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.
Medical Services and Warfare
"The resource tells the story of medical advances during warfare from the mid-nineteenth century to the outbreak of the influenza epidemic in 1918 and the discovery of penicillin in 1927. The wealth of documents cover multiple conflicts as well as interwar developments from a range of perspectives."
Irish Famine Archive
Eyewitness accounts from religious and lay witnesses to the effects of the Irish famine survivors who fled to Canada.

Archivo de Jose Maria Luis Mora
The Archivo de José María Luis Mora digital archive contains scanned copies of over 600 documents, both manuscripts and printed works, from the Mora archive, as well as an exhaustive guide describing the collections.
Archivo General de la Nacion
Digital documents in the Mexican national archive.
GEE Lindquist Native American Photographs
These photos depict the people, places, and practices of Native Americans and their communities from at least 34 States, plus Canada and Mexico in the period from 1909-1953.
Armed Revolutionary Organizations in Mexico
Collection of printed and manuscript materials created between 1965 and 1998 by 23 distinct revolutionary groups in Mexico.
Bexar Archives Online
The Bexar Archives are the official Spanish documents that preserve the political, military, economic, and social life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahulia y Texas.
Chican@/Xican@: Freedom Archives
This collection contains materials pertaining to the Chican@/Latin@ experience in the United States and Mexico. The majority of the sub-collections are derived from various BayArea radio programs (In English and Spanish) focusing on everything from challenging the legitimacy of the border with Mexico and farm-worker rights to the struggles of the diaspora from Central and Latin America, poetry and music. There is also a collection on the Zapatistas and their struggle against NAFTA in Mexico.
Archivo de Lucas Alaman
The Archivo consists of an inventory with descriptions of 364 manuscripts from the Papers of Mexican statesman and historian, don Lucas Alamán.
Onda Latina: The Mexican American Experience
The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.
Primeros Libros
The Impresos Mexicanos del Siglo XVI project has built a digital collection of the first books printed in Mexico before 1601. These monographs are very important because they represent the first printing in the New World and provide primary sources for scholarly studies focused on a variety of academic fields.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
An index to printed primary sources about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Not all full text will be instantly available, use interlibrary loan for what is not.
Dates: 1493-1750 CE

Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages
The Presidential Messages database is a collection of digital full-text presidential messages of Argentina and Mexico from the early 19th century to the present.
Diseños Collection
"These sketch maps were hand-copied from originals that were created from approximately 1827-1846. Many of the diseños have labeled neighboring properties and as part of the initial land grant process all boarders were agreed upon by surrounding landowners. The diseños also show existing travel routes, locations of houses and local place names."
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press Collection
20 significant newspapers, 1850s-1970s, many in Spanish, published in the US and Mexico - University of Arizona Libraries
Mexican Cookbook Collection
A growing collection of Mexican cookbooks from 1789 through the 20th century.
Mexico: Photographs, Manuscripts, and Imprints
The collection includes images and texts from the Mexican revolution to American relations, focusing on the 19th century.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
"The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s."

Avalon Project: Document Collections
Browse this page for Latin American-American legal documents.
LLILAS Benson Digital Collections
Digital collections include digitized documents from the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN) and the Latin American Government Documents Archive.
Digital Archive of Latin American & Caribbean Ephemera
Rare pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards that document political and social issues in the region.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
An index to printed primary sources about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Not all full text will be instantly available, use interlibrary loan for what is not.
Dates: 1493-1750 CE

Newspapers and Serial Publications

Prensa Libre, Guatemala
Some digitized issues of the newspaper from 1977.

Avalon Project - Document Collections
Browse this page for South American-American legal documents.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
An index to printed primary sources about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Not all full text will be instantly available, use interlibrary loan for what is not.
Dates: 1493-1750 CE

Slave Voyages
Searchable and sortable databases of the Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trades as well as the names of African people taken into captivity. Users can sort data on point of departure, gender, slave ship captain, and many many more variables. Site includes image galleries that contextualize data with historical maps, ship manifests, drawings, and more.
Brazilian Government Documents
Executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930.
Biblioteca Nacional del Peru
Digitized manuscripts, images, and more from the National Library of Peru.
Chilean Protest Murals
Many hundreds of protest murals were created in Chile during the dictatorship of Gen. Augusto Pinochet from 1973 to 1990. Created in and around Santiago between 1983 and 1990, the murals document the spirit, force, and iconography of political protest during an important period of Chilean history.
Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages
The Presidential Messages database is a collection of digital full-text presidential messages of Argentina and Mexico from the early 19th century to the present.
Archivo Nacional de Chile
Digital Collections of the National Archive of Chile.
Bolivia, Diario de lucha
Digitized diary entries, maps, and other documents of Che Guevara.

Newspapers and Serial Publications

Digital Archive of Latin American & Caribbean Ephemera
Rare pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards that document political and social issues in the region.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals
"Forming a prominent feature of British religious philanthropy from the late eighteenth century onwards, missionary societies served as employer and community to missionaries far from home." Missions went to the Middle East, Africa, South America, and Asia.

Featured Site

Latin American Studies Association

LASA is the major professional organization of scholars and researchers of Latin America.

Students are eligible for discounted membership rates.

Featured Site

Castro Speech Database
1959-1996

Contains the full text of English translations of speeches, interviews, and press conferences by Fidel Castro, based upon the records of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Browse by year or search across all speeches.

Castro Speech Database

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES: Find Internet Resources

Key Sites

Additional websites

Primary Source Collections

Featured Site

Latin American Studies Association

Featured Site

Castro Speech Database 1959-1996

Castro Speech Database
1959-1996