Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

JPN 251: From Myth to Manga

Get Started with SuperSearch

SuperSearch can be a great place to start your search for journal articles, books, films, newspaper & magazine articles, and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface. You can use the filters on the results screen to refine your search and improve your results. For example, try limiting to Full Text Online, and then Book/eBook to see e-books. Or choose Peer-Reviewed Article to find scholarly journal articles, or Encyclopedia Articles & More to find background sources. Click More... to see all content types.

 

Because SuperSearch contains so much content from so many different kinds of sources, the results can sometimes be overwhelming and hard to focus. At the same time, SuperSearch is also not comprehensive and can miss key sources. To search with more focus, precision, and depth, be sure to try the databases recommended on this guide, as well as the library catalog for books and films.

For more on how to search, see the Search Tips & Tutorials page of this guide.

Find Scholarly Sources in Key Databases

Databases can contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books. To find additional databases relevant to your research interests, go to the Library's Databases A-Z list and use the Subjects menu.

Search Tip: Some databases search a relatively small amount of information about each source by default, rather than the full text of the source itself. Trying a variety of keywords is often essential to getting good results in many databases. Make note of relevant keywords and subject terms that come up in your initial searches, and use those terms to find more.

Literature & Film

History

Women & Gender

Multidisciplinary