Library Research Guides: CAMS 201: Technologies of Cinema &amp; Media: Individual Journals & Databases

Find a Database

The databases listed here are just a selection of what is available through Wellesley. See our Databases A-Z list and browse by Subject or Database Type to find other databases relevant to your research.

Database Search Tips

Some databases search a relatively small amount of information about each source (what is often called metadata), rather than the full text of the source itself. This can be very helpful for relevancy (since you'll only get results in which your search terms are important enough to be included in the description), but it means the specific terms you choose become more important. Trying a variety of keywords is often essential to getting good results in these databases.
Keep track of relevant keywords and subject terms that come up in your initial searches, and use those terms to find more.
Consult the Search Tips on this guide for search tips that work in most databases. Each database will also have some unique filters and other features to help refine your searches.

Selected Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals

Most of these individual journals are indexed (sometimes with full text included) in one or more of the databases included below, but browsing or searching an individual journal that is highly relevant to your area of interest can be a useful strategy for exploring a topic and finding sources.

Configurations
This journal explores the relations of literature and the arts to the sciences and technology. Available from 1993-present in the Project Muse database.
Convergence: The International Journal of Research into New Media Technologies
Feminist Media Histories
You can read abstracts and search the full text on the journal website. To access full articles, place requests through Wellesley's Interlibrary Loan.
JCMS: Journal of Cinema and Media Studies
Journal of Visual Culture
Media, Culture & Society
New Media & Society
Technology & Culture

Subject-Focused Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of articles and conference proceedings in all areas of computer science.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles from an international array of publications covering topics in art and architectural history, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, urban design, photography, costume design, film, non-western art and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and magazine articles in the fields of communications, mass media, journalism, television, film, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, and advertising.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Articles on film and television from scholarly and popular film journals as well as a selection of encyclopedia articles and other reference sources.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles and book chapters on film and television history, theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of American and Canadian history, prehistory to present and searchable by historical time period.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on literature, languages, linguistics, film, folklore, and rhetoric, from all cultures.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and magazine articles on all aspects of music.
Dates: 1973 CE-present
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed articles and books on music and musicians. Covers all genres of music from all over the world.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and peer reviewed articles in sociology.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on gender, sex, and sexuality in history, sociology, psychology, education, art, and more.
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and news on international finance, business, and economics.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A very large multi-disciplinary database with articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database contains scholarly journal articles and book chapters (as well as images, historical documents, and other materials) in many disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, but it doesn't include articles from the most recent 3-5 years for many journals.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1990 CE-Present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.