Trying some initial searches in SuperSearch can be a great way to begin to explore a topic from many angles across a variety of disciplines. Start with a simple search and scan the results, paying attention to aspects of the topic that jump out at you or resonate with you. As Mullaney and Rea suggest in Where Research Begins, notice "which ones quicken your pulse." (See "Questions" above, p. 27)
(Learn more about SuperSearch on the SuperSearch page of this guide, under How Do I Find Relevant Sources?)
Specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, companions, and other reference works can be good starting places for getting an overview of a topic, definitions of key terms, and suggestions for further reading.
Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.
Over 400 full-text academic encyclopedias, language dictionaries, books of quotations, and other sources. Includes subject-specific titles from art, classics, history, law, linguistics, literature, media studies, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, religion, science and technology, politics, and more.
Search across more than 100 full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in the social and behavioral sciences.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Digital Media
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by