Library Research Guides: CINEMA & MEDIA STUDIES: Home

Media History: Primary Sources

British Newsreels, 1911-1930: Culture and Society on Film This link opens in a new window
More than 6,000 early twentieth-century newsreels (short-form, visual news content intended to inform and entertain the public, in black and white and entirely silent) originally shown in cinemas across Britain.
Broadcasting America This link opens in a new window
The papers in this resource provide insight into the impact of broadcasting innovations on advertising, consumer culture, global conflicts, and the Space Race. Most material spans the 1920s to the 1970s.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, newsreels and features showing the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers, ranging from the early 20th century to the late 1980s.
Victorians on Film: Entertainment, Innovation & Everyday Life This link opens in a new window
Showcasing the British Film Institute’s Victorian Film Collection and the Mitchell and Kenyon Collection, as well as a selection of special early large format films, this material provides a glimpse into the lives of the late Victorians and Edwardians captured between 1895 and 1913 by some of Britain’s earliest film pioneers and innovators.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest This link opens in a new window
Printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and video clips documenting the societal changes of the period in areas including music, politics, fashion, and youth culture.

Cinema & Media Studies at Wellesley

Department of Cinema and Media Studies

Contents of this guide

This guide will help you find resources for researching film, television, and new media. It aims to point you to the most useful starting points for your research.

Key Resources

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on film and television theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more, 1914 to present. Can be searched together with MLA International Bibliography and Communications & Mass Media Complete. Click "Choose Databases" above the search box to add these databases.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures, 1963 to present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the fields of communications, mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, communication theory, and advertising, with full text for over 500 journals.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
An index to articles on film and TV from 300 academic and popular film journals, including full text from the most important journals, from 1972 to present.
Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in film and television periodicals from 30 countries, 1976-2001.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Index of over three million articles from more than 550 US and Canadian magazines.