Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley?
Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly from libraries worldwide via Interlibrary Loan.
Questions? Interlibrary Loan Guide
The databases listed here are just a selection of what is available through Wellesley. See our Databases A-Z list and browse by Subject to find other databases relevant to your research.
Scholarly peer-reviewed articles and books on music and musicians. Covers all genres of music from all over the world.
Scholarly journal and magazine articles on all aspects of music.
Dates: 1973 CE-present
Scholarly journal articles and magazine articles in the fields of communications, mass media, journalism, television, film, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, and advertising.
Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and Native presses. Filter by ethnic group and language.
Dates: 1960 CE-Present
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on gender, sex, and sexuality in history, sociology, psychology, education, art, and more.
Scholarly and peer reviewed articles in sociology.
Political science resources, including scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles and think tank reports. Covers international as well as U.S. topics and sources.
These databases contain citations & full text for scholarly articles in a variety of fields.
Full-text scholarly articles in all disciplines.
Scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years of many journals.
Scholarly articles on topics in archaeology, art, architecture, Asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television, & film, religion and theatre, published from 1975 to present.
Books and journal articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
Use AND to combine terms in your search: hip hop AND politics
Use OR to expand results: gender OR femininity OR masculinity
Use * to find variant endings, or as a wild card: wom*n latin*
Use " " to search words as a phrase: "hip hop"
SuperSearch can be a great place to start to find out what's out there on your topic. SuperSearch will find books, journal articles, films, news, and almost everything else the library has — from popular to scholarly sources. You can use the filters on the results screen to improve your results.
For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.
You can use the filters to focus your search. Scroll down to Source Types, and choose Show More to see all types. Choosing Books, eBooks, and Academic Journals will help you narrow in on scholarly sources. (Not all books will be scholarly, but many will be.)
The library catalog is another way to search for books, ebooks, and videos. Although SuperSearch includes the library catalog, searching the catalog separately can give you a smaller, more focused set of results. While SuperSearch will search inside many books, for example, the library catalog will just search information about each book (what is often called metadata). This can be very helpful for relevancy (since you'll only get results in which your search terms are important enough to be included in the metadata), but it means the specific terms you choose become more important. Try a variety of keywords, and use what you find to find more. You can also use the subject terms to browse related materials.
Try a keyword search. Once you find a book that's relevant to your topic, click on the title and look for Subjects in the record of that book to help you find "more like this."
Sample keyword search for
leads to linked subject terms and more books related to this topic, e.g.,
InterLibrary Loan (ILL) services will continue to be available for print books, ebooks, chapters, and articles. If you only need a chapter or two from a book, place a book chapter request and we'll try to get them electronically. Requesting an item through ILL will be more efficient than recalling an item from storage; however, if we are unable to locate an item through ILL, we will pursue other means.
Where do I pick up & return my ILL requests during the renovation?
Pickups: Modulars, Room 103
Returns: Modulars, Room 103, Blue Library Book Drop outside the Modulars or the Art or Music Libraries
How do I Make Requests?
For Loan requests, search the Library Catalog, WorldCat, or SuperSearch and look for one of the following links to place your ILL request. If we already own an item, but it is in off-site storage or checked out, you can still select “Request from another library (InterLibrary Loan)”.
Renovation Website
Main Floor
Music Books
Music DVDs
Music Periodicals
MFD printer/copier/scanner
Request at desk
CDs
Equipment
Lower Floor
Music Scores and Parts
Sound Lab