Library Research Guides: POL125Y: War and Peace in Literature and Politics: Iraq War

Find Background and Context

Credo Reference
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.
Sage Knowledge
Search across more than 100 full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in the social and behavioral sciences.

Veterans History Project
From the American Folklife Center, part of the Library of Congress. You can filter search results to specific wars, including WWI, the Vietnam War, and the Iraq War. "The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war."

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Declassified primary source documents covering U.S. governmental policy regarding world and national events, including topics such as the Cold War, Vietnam, and 9/11.
Dates: 1945 CE-Present
Global Newsstream
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
US Newsstream
One of the largest full text collections of newspapers from the United States, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires. Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.
Dates: 1985 CE-Present
Alt-PressWatch
Full-text newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles from alternative, radical, and independent presses, mostly in the United States.
Dates: 1967 CE-Present

National Archives: War in Iraq
Resources from the U.S. National Archives on the Iraq War

Literary History & Criticism

Literature Online (LION)
Full-text scholarly journal articles and books on all aspects of literature, along with literary reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and topic overviews) and the full text of thousands of literary works from the 8th century to the present.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
Scholarly articles on literature, languages, linguistics, film, folklore, and rhetoric, from all cultures.

Historical & Political Science Resources

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of American and Canadian history, prehistory to present and searchable by historical time period.
Politics Collection
Political science resources, including scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles and think tank reports. Covers international as well as U.S. topics and sources.
Military & Government Collection
Resources, including peer reviewed and news articles, on the military, government, and armed conflict. Covers international and U.S. topics.