Library Research Guides: POL125Y: War and Peace in Literature and Politics: Vietnam War

Find Background & Context

The Columbia Guide to the Vietnam War

Sage Knowledge
Search across more than 100 full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in the social and behavioral sciences.
Credo Reference
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.

Find Primary Sources

Vietnam: Freedom Archives
This collection features a variety of sources focusing on the Vietnam anti-war movement and the Vietnamese liberation struggle. Our collection includes voices of a movement that sought to end the war in Viet Nam and support the Vietnamese struggle for self-determination against French and United States imperialism. Includes audio, newspaper, and other print sources.
National Archives: Vietnam War
"The National Archives has a wealth of records and information documenting the U.S. experience in the Vietnam conflict. These include photographs, textual and electronic records, audiovisual recordings, exhibits, educational resources, articles, blog posts, lectures, and events."
The Pentagon Papers
From the National Archives: "On the 40th anniversary of the leak to the press, the National Archives, along with the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon Presidential Libraries, has released the complete report. There are 48 boxes and approximately 7,000 declassified pages. Approximately 34% of the report is available for the first time."
Veterans History Project
From the American Folklife Center, part of the Library of Congress. You can filter search results to specific wars, including WWI, the Vietnam War, and the Iraq War. "The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war."

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Full-text historical news articles in major American and British newspapers, including the New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and more.
Dates: 1791-2003 CE
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Full-text of 282 Black American newspapers.
Dates: 1827-1998 CE
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
Broadcasts, news agency transmissions, and government statements from around the globe translated into English, with a focus on Cold War issues and communist states.
Dates: 1941-1996 CE
Independent Voices
Full text of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines.
Dates: 1950-2023 CE

Find Secondary Sources

Literary History & Criticism

Literature Online (LION)
Full-text scholarly journal articles and books on all aspects of literature, along with literary reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and topic overviews) and the full text of thousands of literary works from the 8th century to the present.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
Provides citations to scholarly articles, books, and book chapters on literature and related fields. Use the "Find it! @Wellesley" links to get the full text or request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Historical & Political Science Resources

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of American and Canadian history, prehistory to present and searchable by historical time period.
Politics Collection
Political science resources, including scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles and think tank reports. Covers international as well as U.S. topics and sources.
Military & Government Collection
Resources, including peer reviewed and news articles, on the military, government, and armed conflict. Covers international and U.S. topics.