Library Research Guides: POL125Y: War and Peace in Literature and Politics: World War I

Find Background & Context

International Encyclopedia of the First World War
An international collaborative project involving more than 1,000 authors, editors, and partners from over fifty countries

Sage Knowledge
Search across more than 100 full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in the social and behavioral sciences.
Credo Reference
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.

First World War
Primary source materials including diaries, photographs, reports, posters and other documents relating to the World War I. Topics include personal experiences, recruitment and propaganda, and visual perspectives. International in scope, with documents from Germany, Austria-Hungary, Italy, France, and UK Commonwealth Nations.
Dates: 1897-2011 CE

Veterans History Project
From the American Folklife Center, part of the Library of Congress. You can filter search results to specific wars, including WWI, the Vietnam War, and the Iraq War. "The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war."

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Full-text historical news articles in major American and British newspapers, including the New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and more.
Dates: 1791-2003 CE
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Full-text of 282 Black American newspapers.
Dates: 1827-1998 CE

National Archives: World War I
"As the largest repository of American World War I records, the National Archives invites you to browse the wealth of records and information documenting the U.S. experience in this conflict, including photographs, documents, audiovisual recordings, educational resources, articles, blog posts, lectures, and events."

Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971
More than 130 newspapers published by and for American ethnic groups, with German-American, Irish-American, and Japanese-American papers forming the bulk. English language news is predominant.
Dates: 1799-1971 CE

Literary History & Criticism

Literature Online (LION)
Full-text scholarly journal articles and books on all aspects of literature, along with literary reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and topic overviews) and the full text of thousands of literary works from the 8th century to the present.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
Scholarly articles on literature, languages, linguistics, film, folklore, and rhetoric, from all cultures.

Historical & Political Science Resources

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of American and Canadian history, prehistory to present and searchable by historical time period.
Politics Collection
Political science resources, including scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles and think tank reports. Covers international as well as U.S. topics and sources.
Military & Government Collection
Resources, including peer reviewed and news articles, on the military, government, and armed conflict. Covers international and U.S. topics.