Library Research Guides: SPAN 272: Understanding Modern Spain: Get Started

Context & Overviews (Encyclopedias, etc.)

Online Sources:

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
Publication Date: 1999
Entries range from shorter, factual articles to longer overview essays offering in-depth treatment of major issues.
Historical Dictionary of Spain
Publication Date: 2017
More than 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities as well as aspects of the country's politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture.
Historical Dictionary of the Catalans by Helena Buffery; Elisenda Marcer
Publication Date: 2011
Over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries on significant persons, places, events, institutions, and aspects of culture, society, economy, and politics.
Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Civil War by Francisco J. Romero Salvadó
Publication Date: 2013
Over 600 cross-referenced entries on persons, places, events, institutions, battles, and campaigns.
Historical Dictionary of Spanish Cinema by Alberto Mira
Publication Date: 2010

CREDO Reference
An interdisciplinary research tool that allows you to search over 300 reference works simultaneously, limiting to audio or visual materials.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
detailed essays with links to high-quality images
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
detailed essays with links to audio clips & sites
Oxford Music Online has updated its platform. Please see The New Oxford Music Online guide for more information about the changes.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.

Print Sources:

Spanish Culture and Society: The Essential Glossary: Clapp Ref DP233.5 S73 2002
Regions of Spain: A Reference Guide to History and Culture: Clapp Ref DP48 K45 1995
The New Spaniards: Clapp HN583.5 .H66 1995
Cambridge Companion to Modern Spanish Culture: Clapp DP48 .C233 1999

Diccionario de la lengua española
Published by the Royal Spanish Academy (Real Academia Española) and freely available online.
Tesauro de SIGNUM
Finds synonyms & antonyms in Spanish
Diccionarios
La Página del Idioma Español

If you need help on how to write in Spanish using your computer, please check out the guide, Writing in a Foreign Language.

SPANISH
by Karen Storz Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 247 views this year
PORTUGUESE
by Karen Storz Last Updated Aug 30, 2024 88 views this year
LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES
by Karen Storz Last Updated Aug 30, 2024 36 views this year