Library Research Guides: SPANISH: Get Started

Your Research Librarian

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

781-283-3372
kstorz@wellesley.edu

Research & Instruction Librarian
Office: Clapp Library 218B

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages & Cultures, East Asian Studies, English, German & German Cultural Studies, Italian Studies, Latin American Studies, Portuguese, Russian & Russian Area Studies, Spanish

Your Subject Technologist

Rebecca Darling

Email Me

Contact:

781-283-2882
rdarling@wellesley.edu
Schedule an appointment.

Research and Instruction Technologist
Office: Clapp Library Room 219B

Key Resources

Oxford Dictionaries: Spanish This link opens in a new window
English-Spanish, Spanish-English dictionary, along with grammar, pronunciation, and writing tips.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Articles on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures, 1963 to present. Includes some Spanish and Portuguese content.

Overviews and Context

Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature
Clapp Reference PQ6055 .F46 2002
Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature
Clapp Ref PQ6006 .O95
Gran Enciclopedia de España
Clapp Reference AE61 .G73 1990
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Clapp Ref PQ7081.A1 E56 1997
Latino & Latina Writers
Clapp Reference PS 153 .H56 L39 2004
World Digital Library - Latin America and the Caribbean
Search over 1400 primary sources and images from Latin American countries.

Key Dictionaries

Diccionario de la lengua española
Published by the Royal Spanish Academy (Real Academia Española) and freely available online.
Tesauro de SIGNUM
Finds synonyms & antonyms in Spanish
Diccionarios
La Página del Idioma Español

Student Library Research Awards

Deadline for the 2025 Awards is February 14, 2025

Win up to $1000!

These awards were created to reward those students who take the time to develop a thoughtful, methodical, and scholarly approach to the research needed for their papers and projects, as well as to encourage students to develop good research techniques.

Find out more at the
Student Library Research Awards site