Library Research Guides: AFR 341: Africans of the Diaspora: Find Articles &amp; Books

Search Selected Databases

To find additional databases relevant to your research interests, go to the Library's Databases A-Z list and use the Subjects menu.

Africana Studies

Note: The last 3-5 years of articles are not available for many journals on JSTOR. Be sure to supplement your JSTOR searches with searches in other databases appropriate to your specific topic.

JSTOR African Studies Journals and Books
Search through 63 journals and over 100 books from African Studies.
JSTOR African American Studies Journals
Search through 20 journals from African American Studies.
JSTOR: Latin American Studies
Search through 56 journals and over 900 books in the area Latin American Studies.

AfricaBib This link opens in a new window
Good bibliography of articles on Africa. Contains the Africana Periodical Literature Database, African Women Bibliographic Database, and other very useful indexes. Use with SuperSearch to get the full text of articles listed.
AfricaBib Search Tips:
- Click "AfricaBib: all records, and more," and then "To search the database click here" to search across all content.
- Use the Extended search form to see all the searchable fields. Use the "Whole record" field to search for your keywords in all the available fields.
- All searches in AfricaBib are additive, i.e., AND is implied between all the terms you enter.
  - For example, if you enter botswana gender women, it searches for botswana AND gender AND women, which means each result has to have all of those words in it.

History

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of American and Canadian history, prehistory to present and searchable by historical time period.

Religion

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, books, and essays on all aspects of religion, with full text of more than 80 major religion and theology journals.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and books on Islamic theology, law, and history.

Art, Music, & Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, and more.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles and books on all aspects of literature, along with literary reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and topic overviews) and the full text of thousands of literary works from the 8th century to the present.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of art. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for significant writings on music: journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc.

Social Sciences

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly articles, dissertations, and working papers on sociology, political science, education, economics, anthropology, linguistics, and criminology, which can be searched together or individually.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Political science resources, including scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles and think tank reports. Covers international as well as U.S. topics and sources.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Good coverage of Africana Studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years of many journals.

Selected Journals

See the Get Started page for tips on finding individual journals through SuperSearch.

Journals available through the library that are cataloged under "African Diaspora"
Diaspora: A Journal of Transnational Studies
Africana: A Journal of Ideas on Africa and the African Diaspora
From Boston University's African Study Center
Free Africa-related e-journals
Links to 240 e-journals, compiled by the African Studies Centre Leiden (Netherlands)
Critical African Studies
Some articles are freely available through open access. You can request others through Interlibrary Loan.

Find Books on Your Topic

You can find books in SuperSearch, but searching the catalog can be useful for focusing your search. Your keywords are searched in information about the books (see the sample catalog record under Catalog Search Tips) rather than in the full text of the books themselves, so it's more likely that the books that come up will be relevant to the topic expressed by your keywords.

Search the Library Catalog

Catalog Search Tips

Try a keyword search. Once you find a book that is relevant to your topic, use the subject terms for that book to help you find "more like this" and explore different aspects of a broader topic.

Example: Keyword search: Caribbean religion*

Subject terms for books from this keyword search lead you to many more books on aspects of the topic, for example: