The HistoryMakers is a growing collection of over 3,000 interviews of African American first person video oral history. By recording the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans, The HistoryMakers seeks to preserve and elevate the cultural equity of the African American community.
Includes many primary source documents, maps, and images, in addition to thousands of encyclopedia articles by scholars. Covers Africa and the Diaspora.
Search hundreds of thousands of digitized primary sources related to African American history from more than 1,000 U.S. archives, libraries, and museums.
Searchable and sortable databases of the Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trades as well as the names of African people taken into captivity. Users can sort data on point of departure, gender, slave ship captain, and many many more variables. Site includes image galleries that contextualize data with historical maps, ship manifests, drawings, and more.
The following collections are part of AM Explorer, a large database of primary source collections from Adam Matthew Digital. A Wellesley login is required.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of African American communities through pamphlets, periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories.
Documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, with close attention given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Material in the collection spans across the globe and over five centuries, from the explorations of Columbus and other Europeans, through to de-colonisation in the second half of the 20th century and debates over American Imperialism.
Broad range of materials exploring the history of fifteen major commodities, examining how they have changed the world: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
Over 60 field collections from ethnomusicologists dating from the mid-20th century to the early 21st century. Audio recordings, videos, field notebooks, and journals in this resource document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe.
More than 170 academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres, by and about African Americans.
Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses, 1960 to present.
"MoAD, a contemporary art museum, celebrates Black cultures, ignites challenging conversations, and inspires learning through the global lens of the African Diaspora." (from their About Us page) Includes videos, digital exhibitions, educator resources, and more.
