Library Research Guides: AFR 239: African Civilization to 1700s: Find Articles

Search SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.

Scroll down until you locate the "Source Types" filter on the results page.

Click on the box next to "Academic Journals."

Find a Database

The databases listed here are just a selection of what is available through Wellesley. See our Databases A-Z list and browse by Subject or Database Type to find other databases relevant to your research.

Search Databases and Journals

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
Anthropology Plus
Journal articles, reports, and commentaries on anthropology, ethnology, folklore, and archaeology.

JSTOR African Studies Journals
Search through 59 journals from African Studies. Note: the last 3-5 years of articles are not available for the majority of these journals on JSTOR.
African Journals Online (AJOL)
The world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals

AfricaBib
Good bibliography of articles on Africa, frequently updated. Use with SuperSearch or Google Scholar to locate the full text of articles listed here.
AfricaBib Search Tips:
- Click "AfricaBib: all records, and more," and then "To search the database click here" to search across all content.
- Use the Extended search form to see all the searchable fields. Use the "Whole record" field to search for your keywords in all the available fields.
- All searches in AfricaBib are additive, i.e., AND is implied between all the terms you enter.
  - For example, if you enter botswana gender women, it searches for botswana AND gender AND women, which means each result has to have all of those words in it.

AfricaBib Search Tips:

Click "AfricaBib: all records, and more," and then "To search the database click here" to search across all content.
Use the Extended search form to see all the searchable fields. Use the "Whole record" field to search for your keywords in all the available fields.
All searches in Africabib are additive, i.e., AND is implied between all the terms you enter.
- For example, if you enter botswana gender women, it searches for botswana AND gender AND women, which means each result has to have all of those words in it.

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Peer reviewed articles on all aspects of religion, with an emphasis on Christianity, Judaism, and Islam. Also searchable by Hebrew Bible and New Testament scripture.
Index Islamicus
Peer reviewed articles and books on Islamic theology, law, and history.
GenderWatch
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on gender, sex, and sexuality in history, sociology, psychology, education, art, and more.
Women's Studies International
Peer reviewed articles on women's and gender studies, drawing on gender studies, education, sociology, history, and more.
Academic Search Complete
Full-text scholarly articles in all disciplines.