Risking Everything: A Freedom Summer Reader by For more primary source collections, see the Primary Sources: History research guide.
A growing collection of nearly 3,000 oral history video interviews with both well-known and unsung African Americans, highlighting the history, lives, careers, and accomplishments of African Americans across a wide variety of fields.
A primary source archive of photographs, sound recordings, transcripts, interviews, administrative reports, and statistics on topics such as housing, employment, the labor movement, school desegregation and church integration.
Dates: 1943-1970 CE
Archives, artifacts, and oral history video interviews on the involvement of military and civilian Americans in WWII, also including voices of individuals who emigrated to the US as a result of the war.
Dates: 1940-2017 CE
Audio and video recordings, field notebooks, and journals documenting music from Africa, Asia, Australia and the Pacific islands, Europe, the Middle East, and the Americas.
Focusing primarily on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and North Carolina, this resource documents multiple aspects of African American communities through pamphlets, news, letters, photos, maps, and oral histories. Themes include arts and culture, civil rights and Black power, education, policing, and faith and religion.
Dates: 1810-2011 CE
Primary sources documenting slavery and abolition, including court records, slavery testimonies, pamphlets, books, maps, and more. Areas of focus include the African coast, the Middle Passage, slavery and the Islamic world, spiritualism and religion, resistance and the Underground Railroad, free Black settlements.
Dates: 1490-2007 CE
Primary sources documenting a period of dramatic change, with a focus on music, politics, fashion, student activism, women's liberation, gay and lesbian rights, consumerism, and other areas. Materials include video, advertisements, pamphlets, magazines, government documents, posters, memorabilia, and more.
Dates: 1930s-1990s CE
Primary source collections primarily from American and British archives. Collection themes include empire and globalism, gender and sexuality, history, literature, politics, theatre, and war and conflict.
Dates: 15th Century-20th Century CE
Full-text of 282 Black American newspapers.
Dates: 1827-1998 CE
Full text of more than 170 wide-ranging publications by and about African Americans, including academic journals, magazines, newsletters, reports, and other genres.
Dates: 1825-1997 CE
The full text of one of America's biggest African-American newspapers. Browsable by article type (obituary, editorial, etc).
Dates: 1909-1975 CE
A full-text primary source archive of the New York Amsterdam News, an African-American newspaper. Articles, editorials, and images that chronical the cultural, social, and political developments within Black communities in New York City and beyond during the 20th century.
Dates: 1922-1993 CE
Full-text historical news articles in major American and British newspapers, including the New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and more.
Dates: 1791-2003 CE
Full text of more than 60 newspapers from across Africa, in English and other languages.
Dates: 1800-1922 CE
Full text of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines.
Dates: 1950-2023 CE
Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and Native presses. Filter by ethnic group and language.
Dates: 1960 CE-Present