Library Research Guides: AFR 205: Black Pedagogies in the Americas: Find Background &amp; Context

Helpful Starting Places: Reference Databases

These databases contain a variety of specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, and other reference works. They can be good starting places for getting overviews of a topic, definitions of key terms, vocabulary for searching, and suggestions for further reading.

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Includes the Africana Encyclopedia, the Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought, the Encyclopedia of African American History, and much more.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies are research guides in a variety of subject areas, including African Studies and African American Studies. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship across a wide variety of topics.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Search across more than 100 full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in the social and behavioral sciences.

Encyclopedia Articles & More
This is a subset of SuperSearch that searches several reference databases at once.

Individual Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education
Publication Date: 2012
Reference source in diversity in education with historical context, bibliographies, and useful "see also"s for each entry.
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
Publication Date: 2009
A comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education, offering a thorough and interdisciplinary view of the field for all those interested in issues involving schools and society.
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora
Publication Date: 2008
Excellent source on diasporic peoples, with good bibliographies of further sources.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Publication Date: 2008
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Publication Date: 2006
Over 2,300 articles provide authoritative information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas.
Encyclopedia of African History
Publication Date: 2005
Nearly 1,100 entries ranging from the earliest evolution of human beings in Africa to the beginning of the 21st century.
Encyclopedia of African Religion
Publication Date: 2008
Comprehensive collection of essays, discourses, ideas, and concepts in African religion.
Encyclopedia of African History & Culture
Call Number: Clapp Reference DT3 .P27 2005
5 volumes arranged chronologically, from prehistory in vol. 1 to independent Africa in vol. 5