Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

WRIT 153: Shakespeare in Performance across the Globe

Welcome!

I hope this guide will provide some useful starting places for your research, as you work on your researched essay. I'm happy to consult with you about any part of the research process, from finding and evaluating sources to understanding how to cite them. You can email me or make an appointment on my calendar.   - Karen​ Storz, Research & Instruction Librarian

Get Started with SuperSearch

SuperSearch can be a great place to start your search for journal articles, books, and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface. You can use the filters on the results screen to improve your results. For example, you can filter by Content Type, such as Journal Article, Book Chapter, Book/eBook, etc., or use the Publication Date filter to find the most recently published sources or to find older sources, such as film reviews published at the time of a film's release. 

 

SuperSearch results can sometimes be overwhelming and unfocused. For searching with more focus and precision, try the key databases recommended on this guide. 

Key Databases for Topics in Literature & Film

Databases can contain a combination of full-text (ready to read online) and citation information that can lead you to articles, book chapters, or books. It's always a good idea to search in more than one database. Even if there is considerable overlap in content, the different search capabilities and features of each database can help you find different sources. Check out our full Database A-Z list and filter by Subject to find other databases for your topic.

Search Tip: Some databases search a relatively small amount of information about each source by default, rather than the full text of the source itself. Trying a variety of keywords is often essential to getting good results in many databases. Make note of relevant keywords and subject terms that come up in your initial searches, and use those terms to find more.

Find News & Reviews

Find Books in the Catalog

Borrowing from Elsewhere

owl mail

Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley?

Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly from libraries worldwide via Interlibrary Loan.

Questions? Interlibrary Loan Guide

One Perfect Source?

Your topic seemed so great! So why can't you find any information on it? If you're looking for an all-in-one source that addresses your topic perfectly, you might need a different approach. (From the North Carolina State University Libraries)

This video is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States license.