Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Reference Materials?
for a quick overview of a topic
to develop vocabulary or keywords for searching
for suggestions for further sources
Student Library Research Award
Win up to $1000!
These awards were created to reward those students who take the time to develop a thoughtful, methodical, and scholarly approach to the research needed for their papers and projects, as well as to encourage students to develop good research techniques.
Find out more at the
Student Library Research Award site
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search 500+ reference works in all disciplines.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search across encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.
Selected Reference Materials
Historical Dictionary of Russian Literature [e-book] by
Over 100 cross-referenced entries on significant people, themes, critical issues, and genres that have formed Russian Literature. Includes a chronology, introductory essay, list of Russian names and titles, and an extensive bibliography. (2012)
Reference guide to Russian literature
Call Number: Clapp Reference PG2940 .R44 1998
A wide-ranging guide to 273 of the main writers of Russian literature and to 293 of their best known works from the Kievan period to the post-communist writing of the Russian Federation, with a bias towards the 19th and 20th centuries and, to some extent, contemporary writers.
Encyclopedia of Russian History [e-resource]
Provides a comprehensive discussion of Russia's people, politics, economics, religion, and social systems; and is designed to complement the study of comparative politics, world history, geography, literature, arts and culture and world cultures. Entries span the period from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union.
Encyclopedia of Russian Women's Movements [e-book]
An impressive collection of entries, which include the biographies and careers of individual Russian feminists as well as the groups and movements they engendered. The main focus of the encyclopedia is movements and women since the collapse of the Soviet Union through 2000, but the reader will find many entries for the late 19th through 20th century.
The Routledge Atlas of Russian History by
Call Number: Clapp Reference G2111.S1 G52 2004
Surveying more than 2,000 years of Russian history, this remarkable atlas presents maps on an extraordinary range of topics, including rebellion and exile, famine, the anarchists of Russia, the Revolution, Lenin's return to Russia, the early years of Communism, as well as more modern topics.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Cinema & Media Studies
, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences
, Comparative Literature
, East Asian Languages & Cultures
, East Asian Studies
, German & German Cultural Studies
, Italian Studies
, Latin American Studies
, Russian & Russian Area Studies