"Codex Sinaiticus is one of the most important books in the world. Handwritten well over 1600 years ago, the manuscript contains the Christian Bible in Greek, including the oldest complete copy of the New Testament. Its heavily corrected text is of outstanding importance for the history of the Bible and the manuscript – the oldest substantial book to survive Antiquity – is of supreme importance for the history of the book."
An electronic, open-source created version of the Qur'an that includes searching, browsing, and interactive audio files. Many recitations available with translation, very user-friendly.
This free resource brings together millions of digitized books, moving images, graphics, and many more. It contains many secondary and primary texts on religion.
The Ritman Library has been a ‘knowledge hub’ for topics including hermetica, alchemy, mysticism, rosicrucians, gnosis & western esotericism and comparative religion. Collection contains a few thousand digital early and rare books.
Digitized images of art, architecture, and other forms of visual culture from around the world, from museums, archaeology, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference works, dating from B.C.E. to present.
The Art in the Christian Tradition (ACT) database is a regularly updated visual image internet resource. Designed for scholars, students, pastors, and religious educators, all of the images may be used for non-commercial purposes, with attribution.
A number of collections of digitized images from the Bodleian Library, including collections of images from early, rare, and/or important Islamic, South Asian, and East Asian books as well as Western sources.
DigiVatLib is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
This database catalogues the holdings of over 200 Qur’anic manuscript folios dating from the 9th to the 16th centuries housed within the special collections of the Brown University libraries.
Part of Catholic Online, the Saints and Angels page is the largest collection of its kind on the web. The Saints Index includes all known information for each of the Saints.
Buddhist Digital Resource Center (formerly Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center) is dedicated to preserving and sharing over 10,000 digitized modern and historical Buddhist texts.
SHARIAsource includes sources and scholarly commentary on Islamic law from the earliest periods of Islam to the modern era, covering both Muslim-majority and Muslim-minority contexts.
"Forming a prominent feature of British religious philanthropy from the late eighteenth century onwards, missionary societies served as employer and community to missionaries far from home." Missions went to the Middle East, Africa, South America, and Asia.
African-American Religion: A Documentary History Project was founded in 1987 and is headquartered at Amherst College. Its goal is to produce a comprehensive history of African-American religion, from the earliest African-European encounters along the west coast of Africa in the mid-fifteenth century to the present day.
Maintained by New Advent, a Catholic website, the Catholic Encyclopedia helps define terms related to the Catholic Church, teachings and the achievements of members.
GAMEO provides reliable information on Anabaptist-related (Amish, Mennonite, Hutterite, Brethren in Christ) topics, including history, theology, biography, institutions and local congregations. Secular topics from an Anabaptist perspective and full-text source documents are also included.
The Jewish Encyclopedia, originally published between 1901-1906, recently came into the public domain and is now available for free searching on the internet. This site contains the complete and unedited 12 volume set.
Comprehensive directory of academic internet resources related to the New Testament. Maintained by Dr. Mark Goodacre, Department of Religion, Duke University.
Survey-driven data about US and international congregational membership, denominational breakdowns, and more. Includes basic GIS capabilities and some encyclopedic information with visualizations.
The Pew Research Center's Forum on Religion & Public Life seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs. The Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses, and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life.
"PRRI (Public Religion Research Institute) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to conducting independent research at the intersection of religion, culture, and public policy."
Website includes data downloads, summaries, and visualization of findings.
This project looks at the religious diversity in the United States including many of the new immigrant religious communities. Includes World Religions in Greater Boston.
