Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATLA Religion Search Tip
Did you know that you can search by scipture citation in ATLA? Simply change the drop-down menu from "Select a Field" to "Scripture Citation" and enter the book, chapter, and verse number you are interested in. Check out this search for citations to Acts 1:5.
You can also browse through the ATLA Hierarchical Scripture Authority database at the top of the search page.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Academic journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search engine for scholarly literature in all disciplines; link to fulltext articles in Wellesley-licensed databases.
Core Religion Article Databases
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, books, and essays on all aspects of religion, 1949 to present, with full text of more than 80 major religion and theology journals.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of articles and books on Hebrew Bible studies, 1978 to present
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of articles and books on New Testament studies, 1985 to present.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories from more than 200 journals related to Jewish thought, 1988 to present.
RAMBI: the Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Index to books and articles on all aspects of Jewish studies.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of books and index of journal articles on Islam and the Muslim world, 1906 to present.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture.
Related Discipline Databases
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture articles, prehistory to present, written from 1955 to present.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research, from the 19th century to today.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology, 1952 to present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Indexes Asian studies in western languages, including journal articles, books, book chapters & conference proceedings, 1971-1991, and articles published in the 100+ most-used journals in this field, 1991 to present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on world history from 1450, excluding US & Canada, written since 1955. Can be co-searched with America: History & Life
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, and chapters in books on all aspects of philosophy, 1940 to present
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations from the international scholarly literature of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, 1840 to present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences (1898-present) physical & life sciences (1899 to present), and arts & humanities (1975 to present). Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.