Library Research Guides: WRIT 127: American Protest Literature: Websites &amp; Primary Sources

Digitized Primary Source Collections

For more primary source collections, see the Primary Sources: History and the Primary Sources: Literature research guides.

Independent Voices
Alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture
Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s. From Duke University.
We Raise Our Voices: Celebrating Activism for Equality & Pride in Boston's African American, Feminist, Gay & Lesbian, & Latino Communities
Showcases selected documents from Northeastern University Archives’ social justice collections.
Gender and Sexuality: Freedom Archives
Sources on women's liberation, gender and incarceration, queer liberation, violence against women, and more. From the late 1960s to the mid-1990s
Digital Public Library of America
Discover over 45 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Full-text of 282 Black American newspapers.
Dates: 1827-1998 CE
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
Find articles published in over 6000 scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications in the humanities and social sciences in over 60 languages, reaching back to 1665.
Dates: 1665 CE-present

The following collections are part of AM Explorer, a large database of primary source collections from Adam Matthew Digital. A Wellesley login is required.

Women and Social Movements in the United States Since 1600
A wide variety of primary source sets from American women's history, including Black liberation, suffrage, temperance, and more.
Dates: 1600-2000 CE
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Primary sources documenting representations and experiences of gender roles and relations, including pamphlets, speeches, newsletters, diaries, images, and more. About half of the materials from 1900-1950.
Dates: 1575-2014 CE
Indigenous Newspapers in North America (American Indian Newspapers)
Nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the United States and Canada, from 1828-2016
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America (American Indian Histories and Cultures)
Primary sources from the largest and best collection of materials on Indigenous (Native American) history, including maps, treaties, letters, journals, art, and more.
Dates: 1500-1998 CE

Websites

Blackfeminisms
"The vision for Blackfeminisms.com is to serve first and foremost as an outlet for the cultivation of scholarship that centers on Black women." Includes an excellent list of archives on Black women.
The History Project: Documenting LGBTQ Boston
Focused on documenting and preserving the history of New England's LGBTQ communities. Check out the Exhibitions page, which includes material on Black, Latinx, and Asian American LGBTQ communities.
Chicana por mi Raza Digital Memory Collective
A group of researchers, educators, students, archivists and technologists dedicated to preserving imperiled Chicanx and Latinx histories of the long Civil Rights Era.
Voices from the Gaps
University of Minnesota professors Toni McNaron (English) and Carol Miller (American Studies and American Indian Studies) founded VG/Voices from the Gaps in 1996 to uncover, highlight, and share the works of marginalized artists, predominately women writers of color living and working in North America.