Library Research Guides: POL1 328: Immigration Politics and Policy: Find Background and Contextual Materials

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Use these sources to learn about topics and definitions about the policy-making process.

Safire's Political Dictionary by William Safire
Call Number: Clapp Ref. JK9 .S2 2008
ISBN: 9780195340617
Publication Date: 2008
Safire's Political Dictionary is a stem-to-stern updating and expansion of the Language of Politics, which was first published in 1968 and last revised in 1993, long before such terms as Hanging Chads, 9/11 and the War on Terror became part of our everyday vocabulary.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by James Ciment
Call Number: Clapp Ref. JV6465 .E53 2001
ISBN: 0765680289
Publication Date: 2001
This richly illustrated set is the definitive reference on American immigration from both historic and contemporary perspectives. It traces the scope and sweep of U.S. immigration from the earliest colonial settlements to the present, focusing on critical issues as well as the groups of people involved. Check out * Part II: Immigration Issues - Includes laws and policy, politics, economics, labor, demographics, legal vs. illegal, the INS, culture, language, and more. *
American Political Terms; an historical dictionary by Hans Sperber
Call Number: Clapp Ref. JK9 .S65
Publication Date: 1962
Don't let the old publication date fool you! This book can help you define common terms about the American political process.

Bibliographies

Think of a bibliography like a super beefed up encyclopedia entry. They are most helpful for their citations. Use these to find explanations of topics, and to locate books and articles on those specific topics. They contain annotations of each source listed, which will help you save time in determining whether to investigate and track down the sources themselves.

Bibliography of Immigration in the United States, 1900-1930 by W. Ralph Janeway
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 1934
A bibliography of books and articles published on US immigration between 1900-1930. A great way to use this resource is to examine the sources, and then find more recent publications that cite these early 20th century sources. Try plugging the titles into a Google Scholar search, and checking the "Cited by" list.

Additional Background Sources

CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and policy analysis on U.S. Congressional legislation, lobbying activity, members of Congress, bills, votes, amendments, and floor and committee activity.
Dates: 1983 CE-Present
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on major legislation, dates, and events during each Congressional session.
Dates: 1945-2013 CE
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports and analysis on political topics and policies, including education, public health, elections, human rights, immigration, the economy, and more.