Library Research Guides: POL1 200: American Politics: Find Legislative Sources

Trace Legislation

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Text of U.S. bills, laws, regulations and some Congressional hearing testimony from 1988 to present - use to trace the path a bill takes en route to becoming law. To find a bill or public law by number, go to the Congressional Publications menu and choose Search by Number.

Congress.gov
From the Library of Congress. Legislative histories 1973 to present. Can be used to get a detailed timeline of a bill’s journey through Congress. Search by bill number or public law number
Govtrack.us
Track activities in the U.S. Congress. Includes the status of federal legislation, voting records, info on members of Congress, and Congressional district maps

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal resources, many of which are full text. Includes law review articles, legislation, legal analysis, statutes, regulations, court cases, court filings and documents, news, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.

National Journal Publications This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on politics, policy, and government.
Dates: 1977 CE-Present
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on major legislation, dates, and events during each Congressional session.
Dates: 1945-2013 CE
CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and policy analysis on U.S. Congressional legislation, lobbying activity, members of Congress, bills, votes, amendments, and floor and committee activity.
Dates: 1983 CE-Present
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports and analysis on political topics and policies, including education, public health, elections, human rights, immigration, the economy, and more.

Almanac of American Politics
Voting records and election results for Senators, Representatives, and Governors; information on their states and districts; interest group ratings for elected officials; campaign expenditures reported to the FEC; and descriptions of Congressional districts.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports This link opens in a new window
Full-text, authoritative reports and analysis on major policy issues from the CRS, a non-partisan body of the U.S. legislative branch that provides research on topics of interest to Congress. Also contains current information on appropriations bills and the Congressional budget process.
PAIS Index - Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
Articles and reports on public policy, international relations, and world politics, 1915-present.
Dates: 1915 CE-Present
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Full-text public policy documents from think tanks, NGOs, and research organizations.

Think Tank Search
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses.