Library Research Guides: JPN 352: Love and Liberation in Postwar Japanese Fiction: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for

JPN 352: Love and Liberation in Postwar Japanese Fiction

Use the resources in this guide to find information about your author, their works, and criticism of their works. If you would like additional assistance with your research, please contact me!

Related Guides

EAST ASIAN LANGUAGES & CULTURES
by Karen Storz Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 30 views this year
EAST ASIAN STUDIES
by Karen Storz Last Updated Aug 7, 2023 20 views this year
HISTORY
by Sarah Moazeni Last Updated Feb 28, 2024 44 views this year
Primary Sources - Literature
by Laura O'Brien Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 396 views this year

SuperSearch

Find Books and Translations

To find books in Wellesley's collection:

BY your author - do an author search
ABOUT your author - do a subject search
Which may mention your author - do a keyword search

Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley? Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly (via InterLibrary Loan) from libraries worldwide.

Trying to find a translation of a work? Use one of the following sites to identify translations, then search for it by title in the library catalog.

Japanese Literature in Translation
Current source of translations, especially for modern materials. From the Japan Foundation.
Index Translationum
List of books translated in the world, i.e. an international bibliography of translations. From UNESCO.
WorldCat Discovery
Search for books on your topic and use the limiters on the left of the results page to further limit by language, format, date of publication, etc.

Find Literary Criticism

Databases contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.

Use the FindIt! button to locate articles, book chapters, and books when full text is not immediately available.

Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures, 1963 to present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical material.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical material.

Japanese Studies / Asian Studies

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Indexes Asian studies in western languages, including journal articles, books, book chapters & conference proceedings, 1971-1991, and articles published in the 100+ most-used journals in this field, 1991 to present.

CiNii
Japanese-language index to articles, books & journals.
Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 4500 journals in the humanities & social sciences in 40 languages, 1665 to 1995
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
Full text of journals published from 1665-1995. Note: includes British journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.

Online Reference & Biographical Works

Find biographical and background information in the following sources. Additional biographical material can be found in some of the literary criticism databases.

General Japanese Reference Works

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan
Call Number: Clapp Ref DS805 .C36 1993

Find more reference works on Japan in the library catalog.

Cultural Atlas of Japan
Call Number: Clapp Ref f DS821 .C62 1988
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Call Number: Clapp Ref DS805 .K633 1983
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Japanese Economy
Call Number: Clapp Ref HC462.9 .H73 1994
Modern Japan: an Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism
Call Number: Clapp Ref DS805 .M63 1998

Megan Brooks

Karen Storz

Email Me

Contact:

781-283-3372
kstorz@wellesley.edu

Research & Instruction Librarian
Office: Clapp Library 218B

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages & Cultures, East Asian Studies, English, German & German Cultural Studies, Italian Studies, Latin American Studies, Portuguese, Russian & Russian Area Studies, Spanish